GSM or CDMA?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Afbar1114, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. Afbar1114
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #1
    When I went to go register my new iP5 i got today from apple swap....it said it was (GSM,CDMA) so which is it?
     
  2. tymaster50
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
  3. Afbar1114
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
  4. andyx3x
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
  5. tymaster50
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    well if it says GSM and cdma then it's both...
     
  6. w00t951
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    116th & Broadway
    #6
    I think the iPhone 5 is a world phone, so it supports both CDMA and GSM networks.
     
  7. 0dev
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    The iPhone 5 supports both GSM and CDMA but there are three different versions operating on different sets of frequencies for different parts of the world.
     
  8. dontwalkhand
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    All iPhones have GSM, certain models have CDMA as well, such as Verizon and Sprint in the US, KDDI in Japan, China Mobile, and so forth.

    (International carriers not accurate ;), It could be AU that is CDMA in Japan, not too sure).

    To help us hep the OP however, we need to know what carrier he/she is using it on. If AT&T then its just the plain jane GSM model.
     

Share This Page