GSM or CDMA?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Afbar1114, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #1
    When I went to go register my new iP5 i got today from apple swap....it said it was (GSM,CDMA) so which is it?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    both? Not sure what you're trying to ask.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #3
    i thought it was one or the other not both
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #4
    What carrier is the phone for?
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    well if it says GSM and cdma then it's both...
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    116th & Broadway
    #6
    I think the iPhone 5 is a world phone, so it supports both CDMA and GSM networks.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    The iPhone 5 supports both GSM and CDMA but there are three different versions operating on different sets of frequencies for different parts of the world.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    All iPhones have GSM, certain models have CDMA as well, such as Verizon and Sprint in the US, KDDI in Japan, China Mobile, and so forth.

    (International carriers not accurate ;), It could be AU that is CDMA in Japan, not too sure).

    To help us hep the OP however, we need to know what carrier he/she is using it on. If AT&T then its just the plain jane GSM model.
     

Share This Page