GTA 4 on iMac with ATI X1600 128mb - No Walls, No floor!!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by nilay9999, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    #1
    Hi all!!
    I've had this problem for a week now don't know what to do! I realise the GTA IV min. requirements say graphics card with at least 256mb and blah blah but all other games I have with the similar min. requirements work well. I have an iMac 20 inch, the older one, intel core 2 duo, 2 gig ram, high enough processor, and an Ati Radeo x1600 graphics card with 128ram. I'm on XP Sp3. When I begin the game, everything works fine, cut scenes and all, But when i actually begin driving I realise that I cannot see the floor or walls or anything!!! It's kinda like driving in open space! Lol. And can still crash into invisible things. I installed windows 7 to see if it made a difference. In that, it ran in a tiny window but everything was visible. I need to make it work in xp sp3? Any suggestions? I have bootcamp 3.1 and downloaded the latest ati driver as well from what i can tell. Any patch or hot fix for this problem? I googled and youtubed it but couldn't find much helpful!!
    Please help!!! GTA IV looks like a crazy game!! Thanks to everyone.
     
  2. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #2
    You should really consider a new computer.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #3
    It says minimum graphics for the game are 256MB and you come on here running a 128 MB card... asking why there are problems?

    Sorry, I just don't get it.
     
  4. macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Darkplace Hospital
    #4
    Yea, don't run GTAIV on an x1600. I have that card. I have it overclocked just to get TF2 running at a constant 60fps... I don't even want to put GTAIV anywhere near that!
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    #5
    I believe it'll be because of the ram not being able to render the graphics in time. I also have GTA IV on that same iMac and it runs like how you descibed it. Yet when I run on my MacBook Pro with 4 gb of ram, it runs perfectly.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    You don't meet min requirements, you can't run the game.

    The reason things are missing is because there isn't enough VRAM to load them.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #7
    yeah dude, i can't believe you have a remotely playable experience with that. Maybe just stick with the older GTA's
     
  8. macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #8
    Wow guys. I play GTA4 with my X1600 on the 17" MBP Core Duo and its more playable then the MBA with the 9400M. Granted I don't get 60 fps but I'm getting average of 24-30 fps, which is fine for such an old card. Stock clock settings too
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    You probably have the 256 meg version of the card. The card's not the problem, it's the low vram that's the problem. OP only has the 128 meg version.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #10
    I've got a 5850 (desktop) and I can't even play GTA 4 on the highest settings. I can't imagine what it would be like on an x1600 (mobility). I've got an overclocked x1600 256mb in my iMac and it struggles playing Halflife 2 on medium settings. I would suggest that you prettymuch give up any hope of playing any game made within the last 4 years.
     
  11. macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Darkplace Hospital
    #11
    Nope!
    I have an x1600 and I'm running HL2 (what are you doing to have it run that bad, or are you running under OSX?). Infact I run HL2 1680x1050, everything on max, AFx8 AAx0, HDR off and I get 40-60fps.
    TF2 at 1280x800, everything at medium-high for 40-60fps.
    L4D1 and 2 with the same settings, but with textures on low due to hordes.

    Overclocked x1600 (470mhz) with the latest modded drivers.

    GTAIV needs a very high end graphics card and at least a 3-core CPU to run well. That's why it won't run on your computer.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #12
    I cant believe it even played, i have a quad core with a 1gb 4870 and it lags some times, the game was horribly ported so its a bigger resource hog then vista, its a fun game but im very disappointed with it.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #13
    I am surprised your X1600 hasn't killed itself yet to stop the torture :p

    I remember trying to play F.E.A.R on my ancient PC long time ago. I could feel my PC was about to explode !
     

Share This Page