guess the mainboard

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by vollspacken, Jun 26, 2005.

  1. vollspacken macrumors 65816

    vollspacken

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Location:
    Boogie-Down Berlintown
    #1
    I have got my hands on a classic SGI O2 workstation

    the problem is, that I don't know which CPU the machine uses...

    does anyone know, what processor this SGI o2 workstation has? I attached two pics of the board...

    :confused:

    thanks
    vSpacken
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
  3. mwdmeyer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    I have a full O2 System here :)

    The CPU in mine is an R5000 180MHz MIPS CPU.

    The later models came with an R10000
     
  4. vollspacken thread starter macrumors 65816

    vollspacken

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Location:
    Boogie-Down Berlintown
  5. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #5
    I have seen these before................but....I donæt get what is so special about them...can someone tell me :eek:
     
  6. efoto macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Cloud 9 (-6)
    #6
    Me too, I have heard the name of both the proc and the board floating around here and there, what is so special about them?

    That looks like a ton of RAM, how much?
     
  7. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #7
    Yeah old computers with tons of RAM :eek: :eek:
     
  8. blakespot Administrator

    blakespot

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2000
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #8
    The SGI O2 may have an R5000, R5200, R10000, or R12000.

    My 02 has a 175MHz R10000.

    More info about the O2 architecture: here

    As you can see in the photo of my motherboard my heatsink/fan is far larger than yours. That said, it would seem certain you have an R5000 or R5200. If the machine is functional, type "hinv" to get a list of the hardware inventory.




    blakespot
     
  9. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #9

    Wow.. TMI... TMI.. :)

    It is a good read, I see how this may be something else to add to the toy collection..
     

Share This Page