Guesses on Tiger Performance...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by tj2001, Dec 16, 2004.

  1. tj2001 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    #1
    For users or developers of current Tiger builds and knowledge. I am wondering how you feel/think the final Tiger will run on a G4 dual 1.25 with 1.5 RAM and the Radeon 9200 Pro 64 DDR?

    Just curious if I should upgrade my Mac... thanks for any input on this matter.
     
  2. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #2
    should be fine with a lot worse hardware, too ;)
     
  3. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #3
    heh. "Worse"? What is technology coming too..
     
  4. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    It should run on a G3 iMac.

    Someone will come out with a hacked installer after a few weeks to allow it to be installed on a Power Mac 7200.

    It will be faster than Panther.
     
  5. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #5
    It should be as fast if not faster than Jaguar. It will work on any G3 with FireWire. Some older models might be able to hack it to work.

    I hope they change the blue ends on the menu bar they look idiotic, keep the blue Apple icon button on the menu bar and make the magnifying glass blue like the Apple icon in the menu bar. :)
     
  6. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #6
    if i remember correctly, the blue ends have always been there during beta... can anyone confirm this?
     
  7. grabberslasher macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Éire
    #7
    Er... no they haven't. Also the corners are not blue at all anymore. They're a sleek graphite. (as of 8a294)
     
  8. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    They use the (first blue and now graphite) colour for the "Spotlight" menu.
    IMHO a simple black icon representing a magnifying glass would look better.
    These Spotlight and matching Apple-menu colours are too striking in their presence.
     
  9. jadam macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #9
    .... A dual 1.25ghz powermac is still a wicked fast machine. It should run Tiger more then good enough.
     
  10. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    Escpecially with a CoreImage compatible grfx crad (i.e. Radeon 9700 or 9800).
     
  11. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #11
    Core Image acts like a Co-Processor and is mainly beneficial with lower clocked chips. The dual G5 2.5Ghz is by no means requires Core Image as a Co-Processor its fast on its own. If you do not have a Core Image compatible card don't worry all this means is that the Processor will only have to work harder. Thats all. And some wizz bang effects might be omitted too however no big deal at the current pace of GPU advancements a 128MB GPU will be stock by sometime next year (2005). Don't worry about it too much. :)
     
  12. metfoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    #12
    i am on tiger right now (build 8a323). I hated the blue, but the graphite looks much much better. I also love the new pinstipeless menubar. looks much much better that previous generations.
     
  13. Thomas Veil macrumors 68020

    Thomas Veil

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    Reality
    #13
    I hope that's true. Apple's Tiger page is very circumspect on that. Doesn't even list operating requirements at all.

    I realize that's because things are not final yet, but it did make me wonder. I don't expect CoreImage to work on my old snow iMac, of course, but I still want Tiger.
     
  14. gost8go macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    #14
    Really? I was thinking about timecapsuling my G3 iBook 600 MHz.
     
  15. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #15
    I'd do both.
     

Share This Page