[Guide] Installing 10.9 Mavericks on older Macs. -HackerWayne

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by hackerwayne, Jun 10, 2013.

  1. hackerwayne, Jun 10, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #1
    We'll be downloading it first hand and get it tested out :p - From HackerWayne & MLForAll (MLPostFactor)

    What we know so far.

    - Won't work with anything that doesn't run Mountain Lion.
    - EFI64 only, just like 10.8.
    - 64-bit support for older Macs (that currently runs MLPFv0.3) is not going to be easy as many things has changed.

    SUCCESS!!! Maverick on old 2006 iMac!! Pics up later.

    Got it working on X3100 based MacBooks too. Tons of issues. Bugs and glitches everywhere and graphics doesn't quite work yet. Its gonna be like how MLPF started at first. So be patient. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    #2
    Sub'd. Looking forward to another successful thread, HackerWayne.
     
  3. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    [MOD NOTE]
    Lets keep not start asking for links to Mavericks, that violates the warez rules we have in place

     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I would like to point out that I myself am a paying developer and got my copy downloaded and installed and would like to see if it would work on a mac pro 1,1


    it feels sorta like snow leopard
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #5
    Right, finally im able to access the Mac Dev Center. (went to sleep last night) im downloading it now. Will be trying it out today.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    rezzo

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Chile
    #6
    Good luck HackerWayne & MLForAll!
    MavericksPostFactor :eek:
     
  7. street.cory, Jun 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    street.cory

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #7
    If Mavericks feels like Snow Leopard, I will kiss Craig Federighi on the mouth.

    I miss Snow Leopard.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Colpeas

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Rep.
    #8
    Just hypothetically - wouldn't it be possible to run Mavericks at least on older MacPros and XServes if they were fitted with a proper video card? I mean - using some kind on Chameleon bootloader or whatever to boot directly to 64-bit...
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #9
    Where else would you kiss him? :eek::confused::D:):eek::rolleyes: O_O
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #10
    SUCCESS! Maverick running on older Macs. Pictures wil be up later
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #11
    Since it uses OpenGL 4.1 this probably means the end of support for Pre-2007ish Macbooks.
     
  12. batmanofzurenar, Jun 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2013

    macrumors member

    batmanofzurenar

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #12
    You guys should probably just stick with the Chameleon method as it's been a piece of cake for me. I used it to install ML a year ago, (Although I do admit I did have trouble doing so at first) and it's been doing me fine ever since. OS updates and all install properly too. Now when OS X Mavericks was available all I had to do was fire up Chameleon wizard and update the boot loader, create a bootable Mavericks Install disc, and install the system. every things working fine out of the box. Took me no more than an hour.

    EDIT: forgot to mention this was all done on my Mac Pro 1,1 /w AMD Radeon 6870 (I think it's a 6870 - need to check later)

    EDIT 2: Also, I wouldn't recommend using the Chameleon method if you use BootCamp / have Windows installed. Chameleon and the Windows boot loader can make some funky stuff happen when put in the same room if your not careful 0_o
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #13
    Oh really? nevermind. Let the picture explain it for you.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #14
    You forgot about MacBook, iMac and MacBook Pro users. :p

    EDIT: Mac Minis too.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    #15
    Currently I'm running a mid-2008 iMac, so will presumable I'll be able to upgrade to Mavericks?

    Also, I don't currently have Mountain Lion, but if it's required for an update to Mavericks is it worth getting it now and making good use of it until Mavericks is released, instead of buying both OS updates one straight after the other?
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #16
    So you got the right resolution on your Macbook and a translucent menu bar. I don't see how that translates to OpenGL 4 support... unless the OpenGL 4 components of the OS are optional.:confused:
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #17
    And one Air ;-)

    EDIT: and some XServes....
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #18
    MacPro1,1 user here too. I'll need to try your recommendations. That'd be awesome.

    Do you know if my card will work/is supported? (open to anyone to answer.)
     

    Attached Files:

  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #19

    What did you update on Chameleon? I'm running a 1,1 upgraded to 2,1 firmware with x5355's and dual ati 5770's. I'm in the process of redoing my ML setup and Chameleon boot loader since I did a clone copy to get Mountain Lion running.(I'm starting from scratch so I can have clean installs ran into SMC issues from MBP install on the mac pro) Did you follow Jabbawok's guide for setting it up?
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
    #20
    I might have misunderstood what you were saying, but if you were "redoing your ML setup" why don't you use MLPF instead of chameleon?
     
  21. macrumors member

    batmanofzurenar

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #21
    lol - You do have a point XD

    ----------

    Not sure, although it seems like people are having problems with that card on the PC side of the hackintosh community. Only way to know for sure is to test it yourself I guess.. unless you have another lying anywhere.

    ----------

    I used Jabbawok's guide to install ML, then updated Chameleon to the newest version and replaced my SMBIOS with a Mac Pro 4,1 one using "Chameleon Wizard". After that I Installed Mavericks (CLEAN INSTALL, formatted Macintosh HD), and that was it.

    I'm analyzing everything on my system and checking what EXACTLY I did to see if I can write some sort of a tutorial for you guys.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #22
    A fellow owner of a Mac Pro 1,1 reported in Jabbawok's blog that his newly installed Mavericks lacks sound and can't handle his SATA-connected Blu-ray recorder (or player?). He also reports his Mac won't wake up from sleep (I myself experience this in ML, but I don't actually care). Have you experienced such shortcomings?
     
  23. macrumors member

    batmanofzurenar

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #23
    Havent experienced any of those, although I never tried connect my Blu-ray drive to my Mac Pro 1,1 so I can't comment on that.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #24
    Then, does sound work for you?
     
  25. macrumors member

    batmanofzurenar

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #25
    Yup it does.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page