[GUIDE] iPad 2 plist mods

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by FeaRThiS, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. FeaRThiS, Jul 6, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #1
    !!!WARNING!!!
    Before you edit any file make sure you back up the original file.



    I didn't make most of the mods I just found, modified, tested them and rewrote the instructions to suit the iPad 2 runing firmware 4.3.3.
    I will give credit to the person who originally found the mods if possible.

    ------------------

    If you download iFile from cydia you can skip all of these steps and jump right in.

    If you want a free solution and dont mind or would prefer to use a pc or mac then follow these simple steps.

    Step 1.
    Setup SSH

    I have already made a quick guide here follow that and then come back.


    Step 2.
    Setting Up

    Windows User
    You will need to download a plist editor which you can get here.

    Mac user
    You already have the native OSX plist editor but if you fancy using something different the you can get PL Tools.


    Step 3.
    SSH + Edit
    If you followed my guide on how to setup SSH you will now be able to browse to the relevant file download it from your iPad MAKE A BACKUP edit the file and reupload it to your iPad.

    ------------------

    Now thats out of the way all of these mods have been tested my me and I will be adding to the list as I get chance to test more.

    ------------------

    How to change the carrier name:

    Navigate to:

    System/Library/CoreServices/Springboard.app/K93AP.plist

    Search for and change

    Code:
    <key>device-name</key>
    <string>iPad</string>
    
    To:

    Code:
    <key>device-name</key>
    <string>CUSTOM TITLE</string>
    
    Respring or restart your iPad.

    This will also change your signature in the mail app so goto Settings>Mail and change your signature.
    On spotlight it will also now say Search <YOUR CUSTOM TITLE> which can not be changed.
    ------------------

    How to enable multi-touch gestures:

    Navigate to:

    private/var/mobile/Libary/Preferences/com.apple.springboard.plist

    Right at the top under <dict>
    Add these 2 lines

    Code:
    <key>SBUseSystemGestures</key>
    <true/>
    
    Respring or restart your iPad.
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #2
    Reserved for future use.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #3
    going to try this later, but can you list the gestures that are enabled after this tweak
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #4
    Everything is only by four fingers (the iOS5 betas hav four and five fingers which is more ergonomical)

    four fingers up to open the multitasking bar
    four fingers pinch to go to homescreen
    four finger swipe (left or right) to switch between open apps


    I suggest applying this tweak with Xcode (on a mac), becasue that will add a menu item inside settings to turn this on or off at will.
     
  5. Syk
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #5
    Didn't know I could turn on gestures. I was looking for a reason to JB my iPad2. I don't have a Mac so no xcode now I may have to JB later this week. I want to see the bug list for now but thanks to the OP for this list
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #6
    Awesome with the multitouch gestures. Much appreciated :)
     
  7. Syk
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #7
    Thanks OP I made the edits to the plist and both of these work with no problem.
    Also I'm able to use all 5 fingers to do the gestures.
    Good stuff
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #8
    No problem I will be adding some more in the next few days. If you fancy something a bit more challenging hope over to http://tech-guruz.co.uk if anyone does vist my site be sure to let me know how it goes. The site was kind of thrown together due to my thread being removed from here :(
     
  9. Syk
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #9
    Will do..
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    #10
    Thank you for the Multigesture one. I upgraded from 4.3 and was missing that feature badly when I realized it was gone.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Spectrum

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Just wanted to say that this hack works well on the iPad 1 3G 32GB. I used iFile to insert the relevant text for gestures. The only slight annoyance is that when switching directly between apps, there is a slight lag before the new app is operational. This lag does not happen if you first invoke the multitasking bar (with the animation etc).

    The other tweak I recommend is modifying the Mobile Mail plist so that more local messages are retained on the iPad (200 is too few for my work model). But CAUTION: more than 1000 causes the scrolling to get laggy. Perhaps this works more smoothly on iPad2 ???
     
  12. nealh, Jul 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #12
    I bought iFile so need to ask. when I use it to edit the .plist I get error message that there is invalid D on line 10 or 12. it wont save the file.

    any thoughts?

    very weird on my ipad2, I was unregistered. I removed and resprung. I then reinstall, went into settings and was still unregisterd, then open up cydia to buy. Said I purchased the package and then registration was "successful". Odd

    Seems to work.:confused:

    I will try on my ipad 1 when i get home again.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    db67fm

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    Worked great, thanks.

    Now if you want to have a Multitask Gestures ON/OFF Switch in your settings follow this guide.

    Using iFile, go to:

    “Applications/Preferences.app/General.plist

    Using iFile search function search for the misspelled word "Mutlitasking". There are 2 instances where this word is misspelled. Just edit the file correcting the spelling to “Multitasking”. Re-spring or reboot and you will have the switch in your settings.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia
    #14

    Nice! Thanks for the tip.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    macse30

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #15
    How?
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #16
    My iPad 2 is a 3G model and my carrier name says 'No SIM', however when I go into the plist file it says 'iPad'. Does anyone know where the file is located that says 'No SIM' as I will never have a sim in my iPad, I'll be tethering this baby with my iPhone 4.
     
  17. macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia
    #17
    Go to the network settings and turn data off. If you not using the radio it will have battery life to have it off.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    #18
    Under Network there is only an option for both VPN and Wi-Fi as their is no SIM inserted. I managed to get iPad to appear by usig SBSettings and turned Data off! :)
     

Share This Page