OS X Guild Wars 2 Mac Client

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Washac, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    mhb2012 likes this.
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #2
    Officially supported versions are always the best... its a real pain to get it working on your own with Wineskin, so if there is an officially supported way like this where you just download and play, then that is always the way to go.
     
  3. Huntn, Sep 18, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012

    macrumors G3

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #3
    Anyone tried this yet? Without a doubt, I'm going to have to download it. The question is what about FRAMES... ;)

    GW2 Mac Requirements
    Crap, I need to install Lion...:p
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #4
    On the Porting Teams site it states that the Cider version used for this client supports Snow Leopard, try it you never know your luck :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Well the Mac client released by ArenaNet is a BIG no go for me.

    I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 and 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon.

    So it looks like you do have to match their specs for it :( :(

    Totaly not fair for older Mac owners :(
     
  6. macrumors G3

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #6
    You playing the PC version on your Mac? If so you could always try the Mac version and see for yourself. Or have they stated specifically no?
     
  7. Washac, Sep 18, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #7
    The game does not run for me under Bootcamp, well it runs but keeps crashing to a black screen at varying times of play.

    It runs under the Wineskin wrapper, very playable but could be a bit better.

    It does not run at all under the newly released Cider Mac Client.

    I have been told by somebody who knows far more than me that even though my machine does not match their specs there should be no reason for the Mac client not to work, he is looking into it for me.

    Just to back this up, if you look inside the plist for ArenaNets Cider release, it is set to 10.6.8 min requirement.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #8
    just because they left the Cider wrapper requirement at 10.6.8, doesn't mean it'll work... that just means the OS will think it can run and try to run it...
     
  9. macrumors G3

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #9
    Often this is the case, but sometimes not. Not that I know anything, but if it can't produce a picture, could be graphic related.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #10
    I ran some tests of my own on my Mid 2012 13" Macbook Pro. What did I observe? About 20-30 FPS in Lions Arch, and about 25 on WvW with lowest settings. Change a few things up like Anti-Aliasing and maybe medium animations and the FPS change is negligible, like -1FPS. It's actually impressive considering it has no optimization and I'm surprised that this is already being released. It's worlds ahead of Star Wars: The Old Republic though, hands down. A Mac release is a godsend! Mouse scrolling works perfectly fine on my Logitech Anywhere Mouse MX. Temperatures: I was getting about 40-50C, running iStat menus and optimizing fan control to the max, with a small fan right behind the exhaust, down from 68-80C on Bootcamp. Definitely a lot of room for improvement.

    Oh, my computer specs? 2.9GHz core i7 Processor that can turbo-boost to 3.6 GHz, and HD Graphics 4000 as my graphics card. I also have a 256 GB Crucial M4 SSD.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #11
    Does not seem to be a graphic card problem as I have read the new client runs on the same card that I have, and the fact that the game runs under Wineskin proves that.

    It did run once last night for me, but no go since :(

    ----------

    People are running it under 10.6.8.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #12
    OK, so the new Mac Client runs on this machine - ATI Radeon HD 4870 512 MB on 2008 mac pro with 6gig.

    So how come it does not work on mine.

    MacPro 2009
    OS X 10.6.8 - It does run on this.
    2.66GHz Quad - Core Intel
    6Gb Mem
    Graphics card ATI Radeon HD4870
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #13
    Hi,

    my son wants to play it on a 27inch i3 imac.
    Do you guys thinks this will be possible? Or is the i5 mandatory?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #14
    It is what they have chosen to support, people are running it on a machine as I have above, but it will not run on mine, trying to find out why.
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #15
    some people... sure, but its not supported and may or may not work right. If your running 10.6, don't expect it to work, but it may. If you find someone else with the same exact set up that ran it fine on 10.6, then you may be in luck, but thats doesn't mean some update in the future will not break it.
     
  16. NAG
    macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #16
    Getting above 10.7.4 seems to be a requirement for some cards.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #17
    That maybe correct, but it would be nice if they put that in their support section.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    luffytubby

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #18
    what resolution did you run in?
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #19
    Mine was 1280x800.
     
  20. NAG
    macrumors 68030

    NAG

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    /usr/local/apps/nag
    #20
    Yeah they should probably note this (and Apple gets a wag of the finger for waiting so long to do anything about their junk drivers and OpenGL).
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    I have the same iMac, and the game is running really good :) Give it a go!
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #22
    OK, still cannot get the new Mac client to work correctly, the game does exactly what it does under Bootcamp, crashes to a black screen after 10 to 15 minutes of playing.

    MacPro 2009
    OS X Lion
    2.66GHz Quad - Core Intel
    6Gb Mem
    Graphics card ATI Radeon HD4870

    Why does it run under Wineskin ?
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    california
    #23
  24. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #24
    anyone tried this with an RMBP?
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #25


    Does anyone know if this will work going in the "opposite direction"? I just installed the mac client last night, and while certainly playable, I'd like to give it a shot on my BC partition. If I can skip the long download process, that would be a big help.
     

Share This Page