Guitar Hero III just keeps on crashing !

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by geirisk8, May 5, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I just bought a brand new 17" MacBook Pro 2.5ghz, 2gb ram 8600gt videocard and whatever. It's a good computer...

    My last mac was one of the first 15" Macbook Pro with intel. Even that one played Guitar Hero 3.

    The problem is that I just installed Guitar Hero 3 (not downloaded, I bought it) so it should go smoothly and, at least, launch. It doesn't.

    It crashes every time. What could be wrong ?

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Have you tried to reinstall yet? Do that first, as it is usually the answer to all your problems. Does it throw any errors? Or does it just not do anything when you launch it? Or does it crash in the intro? Or does it crash when you try to start a game? Give some information on how far you get before it crashes and any errors it gives.

    Is Guitar Hero 3 one of the games where you can hold down option while you start to get a options window to change graphics settings and whatnot?
    If it is then turn everything down or off and see if it will launch. If that doesn't work than let Aspyr or whoever produced know what is happening, and so they will at least be aware of the problem.:apple:
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #3
    1. I have reinstalled the game, nothing changed
    2. I have repaired disk permissions
    3. I tried updating it from 1.0 to 1.1, which reported to work, but still the game crashes

    So what's going on here is that when I click the icon in the dock, the indicator below blinks 2-3 times and then nothing happens. The program "unexpectadly quit" and does it every friggin time. So I can't even get to the intro video or anything.

    I tried the "holding down alt-option while clicking" and nothing happened.

    Does anyone know of anything other that I can do ?

    EDIT: I'm stupid, there were some files, that came from the other computer when used the time machine backup to move files to the new computer, that I needed to delete and that fixed the problem.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #4
    hello geirisk8!
    Do you used a guitar for mac?
    i'm trying to get my guitar from ps2 working on mac, but it's being really hard to work.
    there is any drivers that could help, or something else?

    cheers!
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    Like I mentioned in another post, You could try picking up a real guitar & actually learn how to play, instead of wasting your time & not learning anything........
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #6
    mperkins, u are very original! thks a lot!
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    I'm just saying, as a musician, I find the whole thing quite pointless. Not much for wasting time on things like that, I would rather be playing my real guitars & creating something original, rather than trying for hours to emulate what a guitar player might be doing if he had a 8 key guitar. It just seems a bit useless to me.
    But to qualify myself as an old fart, I am 41 years old & have been playing Guitars for 20+ years.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #8
    I'm running into the same problem. Would you mind sharing which files you tried deleting?

    Thanks!
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Location:
    Central Americ
    #9
    May I recommend trying the game with windows xp or vista?
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    Guitar Hero isn't very similar to playing a guitar - you could make the same argument about ANY computer game, and it'd be about as valid. Should Tony Hawk players just go out and get a real skateboard too?

    Actually learning guitar (or skateboarding) is great too, but they don't make the games pointless.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #11
    Hi guys, having exactly the same problem with a macbook pro.
    Can you please share what worked ?
    Thank you.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #12
    Is there an answer yet??

    So has anyone been able to answer this yet? I have a MBP and GH3 worked fine for a month until I tried to play yesterday and nothing! The icon bounced up and down about three times and nothing! I re-installed the game, I went on the Aspyr website and downloaded/installed the GH3 1.3 patch for Mac and it still doesn't work. What's the deal?
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #13
    I got it to work but i'm not sure how I did that.
    Can you try the following and give me some feedback please.

    restart your computer holding the shift key (it will boot without extensions)
    then try to open guitar hero 1.3

    does it work ?
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #14
    Still not working

    atshoom, I tried it, but it didn't work. Any other sugestions?
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #15
    Got It To Work!

    I went to the Aspyr website and downloaded a fix that they have for problems that were caused by recent Apple updates/Quicktime 7.6 updates. First, you need to make sure you download the 1.3 patch to update the game. Then download the replacement file, replaced the existing game icon with the new one. Once that was done, I didn't have anymore problems! Rock on!!:)
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #16
    coooool
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    #17
    Could you please specify which files you have deleted. I have set up the system by a time machine backup, too. I tried also the update and replacement mentioned by rmiranda, but i had no luck.

    Thanks,
    alex
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #18
    Hi alexID,
    I did like he said and it worked :
    I've never deleted anything.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    #19
    hmm... i tried those steps, too (update and replace with patch). But that didn´t help either.
    Would like to know about those files anyway...
    If someone has another idea, i would be happy.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #20
    Heya, having the same sort of problem. Got a MacBook running 10.4.11. I've downloaded and installed the 1.3 patch from Aspyr, but still, every time i click on the icon to start, it bounces a couple of times in my dock and then stops. I've tried re-installing the entire game and the patch itself, restarting, repairing disk permissions etc and still no luck.

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     

Share This Page