guitar recording with ibook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sidio, Sep 4, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    hello. I'd like to record some guitar tracks into this free trial version of Deck 3.5Le. I heard about the "imic" and wondered if that would be a good source to input my sounds. If anyone has any suggestions on how to set up a little studio, i'd be happy to hear them. I don't want to get too crazy, keeping it simple, on the cheaper side but I'd still like to get some good, decent recording.
    I'm looking for advice on studio/multitrack software and usb audio line input devices and any other helpful info.
    My mac is this:
    ibook 600
    640MB
    20G HD
    OS 10.1.5(soon to be Jaguar in one week)
    ps-i'm not really messin w/ the MIDI, just electric guitar, and acoustic/electric guitar and some bass guitar, maybe a drum machine (if my buddy lets me borrow it).thanks.
    mr.sidio
     
  2. macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #2
    there are several threads on this topic w/ some good info. i recommend a search.

    also check out:
    http://www.osxaudio.com/
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #3
    i would NOT reccomend the imic.

    look for something with at least a 1/4 input. imic has 1/8.

    will you be using a microphone or going direct with like a line6 pod?

    how much are you looking to spend TOTAL on this stuff

    like less than 200 less than 500?
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #4
    Take a look at digitech

    Maybe you take a look at digitech homepage at www.digitech.com

    I have the GNX3 which is just great. But its maybe too expensive for you. But they have cheaper ones with USB port as well. Have a look.

    Cheers
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    thanks!

    thanks for all the info everyone. i've checked out the links and
    i've made a decision as to what i'm getting.
    i think i'll be going with the:
    (1) EDIROL UA-1A for the usb interface and (2)Deck 3.5Le for the software.
    Both seem reasonable as a starting point.

    I did notice that the EDIROL is RCA input, meaning that i'll need an adapter
    for my guitar chord, right?
    Also, will I need to run it through an Amp or can it work w/o an Amp, direct from my guitar to the EDIROL?

    i don't want my ibook to blow up.

    one more thing, is the recording done in 'real time' or is there some delay?
    thanks u guys. i'm new to this, but it's gonna be so much fun once it's hooked up!:p :D
     
  6. macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #6
    Re: thanks!

    RCA ins, eh? yeah, they're probably line level and should match your guitar level. ideally, you'd want to play through a mic'ed amp and record the mic, but then you'd need some kind of mic preamp, like the kind built-in to mixing boards.

    i assume you mean latency, which could pop up when you're listening to what you're actively recording after the signal's passed through the computer.

    yes, there would likely be latency. you'll have to judge how bad it is. everything's being recorded correctly, but it's hard to track additional instruments. the way to get around it is to monitor your live playing through something other than the ibook. with, for example, a mixing board.

    i like mackie's for good, inexpensive gear. Here is a decent $400 mixer.

    i'd avoid the behringers, btw.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    comments on Griffen Powerwave?

    Zim,

    i noticed the Griffen Powerwave, found out about it from osxaudio.com.
    it seems pretty good, zero-latency feature as well.
    have you heard anything about this product?

    http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/powerwave/index.html

    also, are mic'd amps and preamps the same?
    i think there's an amp on the powerwave, i'm not sure about these things.
    :cool: many thanx.
    sidio
     
  8. macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #8
    Re: comments on Griffen Powerwave?

    haven't heard anything, but it's got some nice features for $100.

    there are generally two audio levels: mic and line. mic level is lower, -10 db. line level (at which stereo equipment, recording equipment, etc. operates) is at +4 db.

    when you plug in a mic (like if you were to mic your guitar amp), you need a pre-amplifier (preamp) to increase the signal to line level. preamps can be housed in mixing boards or can be external units. w/ this griffin piece, since it can take a mic input (you saw the switch), then there must be some kind of preamp inside.

    this unit appears to have the functionality you need. any further comments i make would speak to sound quality -- quality of the preamp, quality of the a/d converter, etc.

    for messing around and getting started, i think you found your purchase. once you decide you need better quality, then you'll have to spend some more serious $$.

    hope this helps.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #9
    You need Amplitube Live

    This was demo'ed by an Apple engineer, a good guitar player. All he had was a guitar that was pluged right into his 12" powerbook, running Amplitube Live. The amp/mic/pickup modeling is fantastic!
     
  10. macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
    #10
    i've heard good things about the product, but i'm still partial to mic'ing an actual cabinet and recording that.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    yamaha mixer in the mix

    sup guys.
    i just got a mixer, Yamaha MT120 4 track, not sure if it has a preamp built-in.
    I think it may help out with my little studio setup.

    so basically, i guess it just comes down to the USB interface device and software.

    I'm leaning toward Deck 3.5 LE though, as it's a bit cheaper.
    i'm gonna use the free trial first.

    I've got about $250 to blow on the usb and software.
    any suggestions would be greatly appreciated....
    thanx for all.
    :cool:
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #12
    Your neighbours might disagree ;)

    Actually, some of the presets actually make little cracks and noises when you're not playing notes or when the guitar is unplugged. I talked to a audio engineer who has tried it and he said it was really good. Brian May is actually using it exclusively on some tracks, and he is quite a purist when it's about amps.
    There is a demoversion, but I haven't found the time testing it yet.
    I must say I'm still a little bit sceptical too, I need to try it myself to be sure. I don't think it will be as good as the real thing, but it does offer advantages.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    #13
    Amplitube Live setup

    This is an old topic now, I realise, but I am totally confused about setting up Amplitube Live. I just bought this as an impulse buy. I usually play through GarageBand with a G5 (10.4.7) and an M-Audio FastTrack (but often directly into the Mac). Amplitube Live produces no sound for me either plugging directly into the Mac or using FastTrack. I only get yellow light (?insufficient input level). The people who make Amplitube Live tell me I cannot plug the guitar directly into the Mac (though someone on this list mentions an Apple guy who did just that). So my questions are: does anyone on the list use AL with Mac? How did you configure it? Do I need some extra sound card?

    Cheers!

    Drew
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #14
    i really wouldn't recommend the imic.
    basically you should get a decent dynamic mic in the likes of shure sm59.
    also its very important you you get a good audio card, i recommend m-audio's audiophile. anyway your'e going to have to put in a few bucks to get this home studio if you want to get decent recordings.

    _______
    Johnny
    http://www.guitars101.com
     

Share This Page