Guitars on garageband

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Zedsdead185, Nov 12, 2006.

  1. Zedsdead185 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,
    hopefully I'll be getting my first mac very soon (20" iMac) which I am looking forward too very much.

    I know it's possible to hook up a guitar to a mac to use with garage band and I was just wondering how I could do that. Would I need anything new other than a guitar, amp and the standard jackplug guitar-to-amp cable?

    Thanks muchly for your help in advance! :D
     
  2. b0tt094 macrumors 6502

    b0tt094

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    #2
    ya u can, u need to get a special cable from apple to do it though, I might be wrong, thats what ive heard :cool:


    PS congrads on the first apple
     
  3. Mac the knife macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas
    #3
    You need just a guitar and a cable that goes from the guitar to the input jack on the computer. No amp needed. Garageband has amplifier simulation built in. It's not bad. I use a Behringer Vamp2 and iVamp software from Wabbit wanch design to control it. Pretty cool. I would like to use my POD, Line6 has no GUI for Intel mac though(at this time).
     
  4. Zedsdead185 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Wow thats great! Thanks for your help guys;) . I appreciate it
     
  5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #5
    Mac the knife is correct in that all you need is the cable. I use a monster cable that I bought from CompUSA for $20-$30 I cannot remember. I did not buy anything like the iVamp software or the Vamp2, but I will eventually. For starters I only want to buy the least amount of stuff to get it to work and see how I liked it and how much I would use it. Just know that the start up cost is just the cable, it's not that you need the Vamp2, but it's a good idea if you really want to lay down tracks for show, but for what I do, it's not that I need tons of quality as it's all about me for me. :)

    Congrats on your mac btw.
     
  6. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #6
    Griffin Technology do them as well, knowing Griffin they'll be good but getting quite expensive...
     

Share This Page