half life 2 or Counterstrike Source on Macbook?

Discussion in 'Games' started by kungfucody, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. kungfucody macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #1
    I was looking into getting a macbook, (not pro) and I was wondering if the crappy built in card could muster up enough power to run half life 2 via windows via boot camp? anyones opinion on this would be greatly appreciated. what about cs source?? what about on an external monitor?
    i wish they made a pro with a 13" screen the 15" is just too bulky.

    thanks again
     
  2. macintouch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Most likely your framerates are going to suck. It should load up and play, but at a low resolution or with very little anti-aliasing.

    Give it a shot and let us know how it looks.

    *Crosses fingers for 12/13" MBP @ MacWorld*
     
  3. aholden12592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #3
    ok, so here is the answer to everybody's question about cs:source. SO i have a macbook (see sig). I installed source and here are my results - the higly detailed default maps are very laggy no matter what. But what i do is play modded maps that are basic but really fun. These kind of maps let me turn the resolution and graphics up and not suffer from framerate problems.

    WHEN USING CS:SOURCE ON MACBOOK YOU MUST DO THIS - go into Steam and go to the advanced options for the game and change the launch properties to "-dxlevel 70" (without the quotes). This will change the startup graphics to direct x 7. Macbooks can't handle 9.

    (sorry about the typos originally - i had to write it fast)
     
  4. bigjimbob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    is it just me, or did anybody else not understand that post??

    It seemed like there are a couple of important words missing in the middle...
     
  5. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #5
    Great thing aboout HL2 is it was made to run in many modes, even older direct X versions 7 & 8 so getting it to play nice with your hardware can be done with lil problem though its sweeter with everything on:) with everything on highest plus AA & AF it looks fanatastic. Integrated graphics wont be able to do this though,it takes a real gpu.
     

Share This Page