Half Life 2 runs great :) iMac...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by mulletman13, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    mulletman13

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles.
    #1
    Hey all,

    Just thought I'd post a topic to reassure everybody that it runs perfectly fine on a 17" iMac at 1440 x 900.

    The video stress test in CS:S runs at a respectable 102 fps.

    I pose this question to everybody though...

    I am not familiar with gaming on Windows anymore, its been about 5 years. I'm looking for a program that will let me use my Xbox 360 wired controller with CS:S and HL-2.

    I've tried something with "Pinnacle" in the title, but it isn't doing too good of a job.

    As for mouse and keyboard... I know more control, blah blah, but I play better with a gamepad :)

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #2
    Thank you!!!!!! Can you post the iMac's specs?
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #3
    Woot! *rushes to circuit city to binge on games*
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #4
    I am under the impression that the xbox 360 wired controller works out of the box with windows, and includes a driver cd, when purchased by itself. I only have wireless controllers on my 360, but a quick search at microsoft yielded this page:

    http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/m...sion=Download XBox 360 Controller for Windows

    And the first option is the driver for windows xp for the 360 usb controller.

    Happy gaming!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mulletman13

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles.
    #5
    'ello all,

    Thanks for linking to the driver, but you are right -- it is noticed off the bat and installs properly.

    The problem is just that HL2 has no options in it to map joystick/gamepad to the keys... so I'm looking for an addon or plugin that will let me do this.

    As for the specs on my machine, everything is standard:

    160gb hdd
    128mb x1600
    17" LCD
    512mb RAM

    It looks great and doesn't get the fans working at all :)
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #6
    good stuff!!

    okay - i am REALLY considering buying an imac. now....:eek: :eek: :eek: :cool: :D


    aussie_geek
     
  7. macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7
    Thanks for the performance update mulletman13. :) Its nice to hear real world reports on the performance of Apple's computers.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #8
    Indeed. Just finished updating the firmware; XP SP2 and HL2, here I come!
     
  9. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    Well done apple. BOOT CAMP works a treat. I have installed windows within an hour & have office, div x, firefox etc... all up and running

    GREAT! Just what the doctor ordered. I wonder what will happen to onmac.net project now? There isn't any need for it.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #10
    Question: (this makes me look like such a Mac user...I'm glad that I am) how much HDD space does HL:2 and CS:S (maybe CS:CZ too) take up? I'm partitioning just for those games, so how big should I make my Windows partition?

    I'm thinking 8 GB should be okay...right?

    EDIT: Oh, and what steps will I need to take to make everything ready to install all that, i.e. DirectX?
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    Gunma, Japan
    #11
    It would seem that the success of that project forced apple's hand to release an offiial dual boot software.

    Takumi
     
  12. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    I made a 50 gig partition for XP only because I have a lot of old .avi files that can only be encoded using windows movie maker to make them .wmv files..Which should then play fine in Quicktime..
     
  13. macrumors regular

    clykins90

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    #13
    Age of Empires III runs fantastic on a base iMac core duo 17" 1.67. The settings are not quite all the way up, but it still looks frickin amazing! Battlefront II works great, Battlefield 2 works great, HL2 works great...dang im lovin this!:D :D :D
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    Phat_Pat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Location:
    I Live Where I Live
    #14
    need... intel.... powerPC..... ahhhhhhhh
     
  15. macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #15
    Sounds cool. :)

    Oh, how I wish that my Mac could run Boot Camp. :rolleyes: :)
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #16
    HL2 does run great. MacBook Pro w/2 GB ram and the 256 MB Radeon. Warning! The 3D mark 05 crashed my Mac twice.
     
  17. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #17

    You have an Intel iMac 1.83 core duo not a 1.67..
    Apple doesn't have a iMac 17" 1.67 ;)
     
  18. macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
    #18
    I have the iMac Core Duo 2.0 with the 256mb of VRAM and 2gb of RAM, this thing plays the game beautifuly. No lag, nothing, it runs like butter! I did the Direct X 9.0c December 2005 update (free via Microsoft.com - no validation or Windows Genuine check needed so you can use FireFox) and it installed fine, no errors, and the games look great. You can download it here:

    DirectX End-User Runtimes (December 2005) Full Download

    Day of Defeat Source and Counter-Strike Source run the same, they run great, this is fantastic. I am now installing Star Wars Battlefront II, after that I'll install Guild Wars, LEGO Star Wars, and when I find the disc, Battfield 2. This is a very good day to be a Intel Mac Gamer ;)

    EDIT: Also I went to install Skype and I got a bluescreen of death, I restarted and deleted the folder and everything's fine, just a word of caution.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    Gunma, Japan
    #19
    Early reports suggest that you are the first to experience the dreaded BSOD on a mac:p

    Takumi
     
  20. macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Hanging around in NJ with his cutie. :)
    #20
    Nah I saw a screenshot of it on a MacBook Pro before I even got started...off to play Star Wars Battlefront II! :D

    EDIT: Star Wars Battlefront II runs perfectly, Guild Wars runs perfectly...with everything on max settings with Anti-Aliasing on 4x this rules! :D
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mulletman13

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles.
    #21
    Yea dude, 8 gb should be enough... I'd go ten to be safe for future updates or something.

    Also... what is CS:CZ? I'll google it but post it here too :)
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Young Jobs

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #22
    thats pretty tyte.... i was wonderin how steam games would run and then i found this post!
     
  23. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #23
    Awesome, I'm glad CS:S works great on the iMacs. Anyone installed it on a MBP?

    I'm installing CS:S on my Mac mini Core Solo :p haha it'll probably run like crap :)
     
  24. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #24
    Condition Zero. Basically a 1 player version of CS 1.6. It sucked :)
     
  25. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #25

    I think if you use macdrive software you will be able to install it to your OSX partition in case you run out of space. Actually I would save most of my documents on my OSX drive from windows so I could access them when I rebooted into OSX.

    -rich
     

Share This Page