Halo 3 Leaked?

Discussion in 'Games' started by mac.head.high, Feb 2, 2006.

  1. mac.head.high macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    So I've noticed a supposed beta version of Halo 3 on around the web. With the actual game also supposedly to be pressed by European manufacturers in the next few weeks, is this Halo 3 beta just some false advertisement by a video-game website as usual. Or is it a real leak?
    Anyone played a copy if they have it? My chipped boxed is dead for the moment so I have no way of testing the supposed copy I have?

    Any info in the topic would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. crachoar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Considering that 'Halo 3' is an 'Xbox 360' title...

    Well, I'll let you think on that one for a bit...
     
  3. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #3
    Games can be ripped to .dmg format and then re-burned to DVD and played on XBOX... I'll let you think on that one for a bit....
     
  4. clayj macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #4
    Microsoft have announced that Halo 3 will not be released in 2006.

    You do the math.
     
  5. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
  6. woxel1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    #6
    What's with all this Halo 3 malarky all of the sudden?
     
  7. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #7
    Game supposedly to be pressed in the next few weeks? Microsoft isn't sure if it will be out this year.

    And it's for XBox 360, so you couldn't be playing it on a chipped XBox.
     
  8. mac.head.high thread starter macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    First off, Hector your avitar picture is awsome.

    But is Halo 3 slated for the Xbox 360?
     
  9. d_saum macrumors 6502

    d_saum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    NC
    #9
    Haha, yeah, ok... so yo're saying you can rip an xbox 360 game to a .dmg then burn it and play it on a regular xbox? Hahahaha.... I can't stop laughing!!! I think that is the most ignorant post I've read in the games section of the forums. :rolleyes:


    edit: Oh and yeah, there is no way Halo 3 is even close to being ready. Its most likely not going to be ready by the time the PS3 comes out, and have you seen ANY screenshots or trailers? nope!
     
  10. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
  11. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #11
    Thats not what I ment....:rolleyes: I ment if the game is indeed out on the internet it will be in disk image format, then you burn it to DVD you will be able to play it on an XBOX 360...... NOT a regular XBOX. Sorry for that vagueness.
     
  12. d_saum macrumors 6502

    d_saum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    NC
    #12

    well, ok, that makes a tiny bit more sense but, you still cannot play burned games on a 360. There is no chip mod, there is no drive firmware mod, and no software exploits yet, so you still couldn't do it. The ONLY way this would be possible is if you owned a G5 and could emulate the dev kits bungie is using.
     
  13. mac.head.high thread starter macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #13


    What if you are to us the Kiosk disc on the 360 to drop the signature security and then played the burned .dmg

    But in-order to do that you would have to not accept the latest (and first) update for the Xbox 360 that came out a few days ago in order to block out the use of the Kiosk disc altogether.
     
  14. mac.head.high thread starter macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #14
    Besides the leak is only a build or an alpha or beta. It's for sure not the full product.

    Here is the torrent description as copied and pasted:

    Here it is! Halo 3 Beta-533d3r5!

    This game is for the Xbox and has the following problems:

    1. Textures are missing in some maps
    2. No music
    3. Missing some Sound effects
    4. Missing maps, there are 14 maps in the menu, but only 8 of the works.
    5. The Front menu is blank, and when the blank screen appears, press A twice.
    6. The "Urumba" plane like thingy cannot be driven and the game hangs for a few seconds everytime you try to enter it.
    7. The game speed sometimes "hang" and the framerate goes from 50fps to 8-10fps

    Tested on Hdd and DvD and works like a motherf...

    Iso size is x and is and xboxiso, so you can use qwix to transfer it to the xbox.
    ______________________________________
    Uploaders Note:

    Yeah i downloaded this from usenet just to see if it was real.. and it ****ing is..

    The maps are HUGE and thers a awesome warthog in it..


    www.MotoAndMike.Com[/B][/B]
     
  15. macphisto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    At home
    #15
    I thought that Microsoft was strategically timing the release of Halo 3 to coincide with the PS3 release? So it would have to be this year? Since the PS3 is "slated" for this year.

    mac
     
  16. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #16
    That's what I heard as well. Maybe they realized they wouldn't meet the time frame or they're just trying to keep things under wraps.
     
  17. d_saum macrumors 6502

    d_saum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    NC
    #17
    Yes, Darth Gates did say that, but then Bungie said... "Uh, no its not. It will be done when its done" and Gates and the xbox team said FU(K!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  18. mac.head.high thread starter macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  19. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #19
  20. PharmD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon Coast
    #20
    Come on now. There is no way on earth M$ would let this game go under the radar. There is not even a screenshot of the game let alone a "ready to be pressed" version. The earliest we will even hear anything about the game will be E3 this year, and it won't even come out until Fall 2007 despite all promises by Bungie. You can quote me on that.
     
  21. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #21
    No, gates talked about the possiblity of that and later said, nah, we're not doing that, it'll be released 'when it's ready'.

    As for that torrent- hey, maybe it's possible the game was originally in development for XBox and switched to 360, like Kameo?
     
  22. mac.head.high thread starter macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #22
    Allow me to inject what little facts I have about this mysterious file. Once I take the iso image and ask Toast to mount the image I get disc named "JEFFMA" and the folder contents look like this the picture I attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Oryan macrumors 6502a

    Oryan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    #23
    I've been following some of the hacking attempts (though not as closely recently) and this is my input. First of all, to burn an XBox360 disk you have to have a custom firmware to write the game data at a specific offset and layer on the dvd. Getting this disk image from a dmg? You're kidding, right? Also, I'm not aware of a way to do what you're describing with the kiosk disk.

    Another thing of interest is that you can have unsigned xex files in a debug mode (such as an alpha build) that you could possibly run if you could burn the disk. The screen shot you show doesn't look like what I would expect to see for the xbox360.

    In conlcusion, this looks like a hoax to me. If it really is a copy I doubt it is very playable. Good luck.
     
  24. crachoar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    #24
    Haha. Yeah.


    I'll just tell you this much. Since this forum is censored like news in China; everything I want to say right now would probably permaban me.

    That should clue you in on how I feel when it comes to the subject of your intelligence.

    Well, hey - I'm gonna go download some XBOX '.dmg format' games (because they sure as hell don't usually package them as .iso files), burn them to DVD and play them on my unchipped XBOX. Because that's how it works.

    Also, I say 'XBOX' and not 'XBOX 360', since the file in question is listed as an 'XBOX' game. See, this is ironic, and somewhat funny, because 'Halo 3' is an XBOX 360 title (which is the point I was making all along).

    Alas, we've come full circle. Thank you. Goodnight.
     
  25. mac.head.high thread starter macrumors regular

    mac.head.high

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #25
    Before you call checkmate and have your sip of brandy, you can play a back-up of a game on an unchipped Xbox. The Specialist accomplished it a few days ago. Please visit the link bellow. So all bets are off now that this is in the wind.

    http://www.xbox-scene.com/xbox1data/sep/EEFlylVlElUQJTKrjw.php

    And as for the file I have, I'm losing hope that it has anything to do with Halo 3. Although I'll keep trying to find if anyone else has any info on the subject.

    Also for the Xbox 360, you can play unsigned stuff if you have a copy of the Retailer Kiosk Dic and you have not updated the Xbox 360 firmware. I said this earlier in this thread but you can read it all at www.xbox-scene.com. All you have to do is use the Kiosk disc for a boot and swap method.

    And crachoar, what's with your tone towards benjamindaines? If he or she doesn't know something that you do, does that give you the position of knowing more and referring to need for vulgarities? No, it just means that person doesn't know that fact yet. I'll remind you that not everyone knows the same things as you. And vice versa. If that were true, then I'm sure we would all be very boring.
     

Share This Page