Halo on a Mac Plus - Experts only please!

Discussion in 'Games' started by TheGimp, Dec 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheGimp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Location:
    anywhere, usa
    #1
    Is there anything I can do to make this thing go? What about swap in a different processor and some other ****? How many fps?
     
  2. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #2

    No
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    I think if you swapped in a mini ATX board and a small LCD you may be able to do it. :rolleyes:

    Otherwise....
     
  4. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    On a Mac Plus....? Is this a serious question? :p
     
  5. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #5
    The Mac Plus is an 17 years old machine! It has a 68000 8 mhz CPU! You can't even run Netscape 3.0 on that thing!

    I've seen people buiding pc mini atx mobos in it, then it wold work, but it requires much skill, money and time..
     
  6. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #6
    Even if you could possibly throw a souped up processor, ram, and a big enough hard drive into that thing, there's no way you'd be able to get enough video ram into that thing short of soldering memory to the board. Moreover, you'd need to run OS X to run Halo. To do so on a Mac Plus requires somehow getting much much later firmware on there.

    In short, it would be cheaper to buy a new G5 than to make that work. If we're talking the PC world, where you don't have an abundance of measures preventing things from running, we're looking at a different story. I've heard tell of a 286 overclocked to be able to run Half-Life. Granted, it was set up in a walk in freezer. In that sort of case, you're not looking at issues of video ram (as you can software render), or especially firmware.

    To run Halo on a Mac Plus, gut it, and build a fairly decent mATX PC in there.
     
  7. pgc6000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    #7
    Ummm.....are you joking or something?
     
  8. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #8
    How to get Halo on a Mac Plus:
    Step 1: Install Halo on suitable PowerBook and start the game.
    Step 2: place PowerBook on top of the Mac Plus
    Step 3: profit

    wait, there is no step 3. :D
     
  9. Santaduck macrumors 6502a

    Santaduck

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #9
    Make an X-grid of 20 Apple Lisas + your mac plus + a networked hard drive. I guess that'll do the dedicated server.

    If you actually want to see it, then shove a PCI vidcard into the xserve running the whole thing. In that case, sell the Lisas on eBay.
     
  10. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #10
    Just popped in here to see if I misread the question being asked, but nope. Halo on a Mac Plus?!?! Wow, good luck with that... I think Counterfit's or SantaDuck's suggestions are probably the best.

    On a related note, can anyone help me out and tell me how I can install OS X on my Apple //e? :cool:
     
  11. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #11
    cuts right to the chase
     
  12. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #12
    Well, what else is there really to say? The situation is pretty cut and dried...
     
  13. Dr. Distortion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Location:
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    #13
  14. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #14
    Panther on a 68K Mac, in 3 easy steps:

    Install Linux on Mac.
    Install PearPC for Linux.
    Install OS X.

    Granted, this solution will take forever just to load the OS, let alone to boot into OS X. The guy who did it on a Quadra estimated it would take 7 days of constant activity to boot the OS.
     
  15. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #15
    Yay OS X on a 8MHz, 24-bit Macs, running in black and white.

    Should really be a poor imitation of Halo, do a capture of a replay and convert that to Black and White (no dithering, just straight X% threshold) and play that back 1 frame a month to see what it would be like on the Mac Plus.
     
  16. DavidLeblond macrumors 68020

    DavidLeblond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #16
    I just BARELY got Halo to run on my G4 iBook, and it wasn't what I consider playable. If someone gets it to run on a Mac Plus, I'll be pissed. :)
     
  17. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #17
    Ah ha ha ha ha... We got the joke... Now move along. Nothing to see here.
     
  18. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #18
    You took the time to post here, so you obviously felt it was worthwhile... :p ;)
     
  19. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #19
    Yeah, no problem - only thing is it looks like this....

    D :D
     

    Attached Files:

  20. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #20
    LOL Brilliant!!! <applause>

    Is Halo 2 available on 5 1/4" floppies? How often do you have to swap discs with it? Every minute or so, or just when you change weapons? :cool:
     
  21. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #21
    Well, I was hoping we'd let the thread die off, but everybody kept replying. Meh.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page