Halo's requirements, not required!

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Dec 15, 2003.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
  2. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #2
    Shame I don't still have a G3 to test it on. Only sold it 2 weeks ago! Oh well, it runs flawlessly on my G4 so I'm happy :)
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #3
    0_0 ok i'm not afraid of gettin it for my pb now... once i get the money i'll buy halo
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #4
    :D :D :D Now how about those poor PC gamers that have a hardly playable Halo on a maxed out gaming rig. Who says Macs aren't for gaming:D :D :D
     
  5. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #5
    Yeah, my cousin had a 2.4 GHz Athlon, and he complained that Halo was unplayable on it. But Halo runs flawlessly on my 1.25 GHz G4. Anyway, he now has an eMac :)
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Location:
    Cambridge, uk
    #6
    i wasn't going to get halo until i upgraded my computer as i have the exact minimum requirements but if these reports are true, i'm definately going to get it. and some more ram just in case :D
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Location:
    PRK
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    #8
    Imagine playing Halo on a Pismo.... spooky...
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #9
    unplayable on a 2.4ghz athlon, that blows. I'm rocking out on a 700mhz G4 iMac :)
     
  10. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #10
    Performance reports vary widely! (On PC and Mac both.)

    I think it's a combination of quirks bugs that slow things down with certain specific setups, together with certain settings that people have different, making an unexpected difference. Plus, some people judge the first scene they see, without much combat, while others apply a tougher test: they wait for an intense battle scene. Best case vs. worst case.

    A downloadable demo would sure help me decide!
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #11
    I'm a little skeptical. I'm not nit picky in terms of frame rates but I guarantee you there'll be some joe schmoe who'll complain like hell about its performance on a G5 while another with the same machine finds it specatcular.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #12
    i'm gonna install it on my indigo imac (350 g3) when i get halo, i'll post my results


    lol
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    #13
    Is there a demo version available? I wonder if it will run ok on my ibook G3 800 with 384meg ram.
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #14
    I have played it on both my machines. On my G5 with all the graphic settings on high, it looks incredible, and I have had no problems with the game. On my G4 PB/800 DVI with 1 GB of ram, play is mostly good on the lowest settings, except for heavy battle times when the screen will go black for up to a second (long enough to die). When you have a bunch of enemies and three or four of them are rocking and rolling with the needler (probably the most graphic intensive weapon fire), it really can put a strain on your vid card. I will check to see if I have the game locked at 30 FPS or if it is able to do what it can. I'll see if that makes a difference.
     
  15. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Old York
    #15
    I'd love to see the original mac version of halo running on a b&w g3 just like it did so flawlessly all those years ago next to another b&w g3 runing the current version (that was ported from mac to xbox to pc and then back to mac) place your bets which one will be faster?
     

Share This Page