HandBrake 0.9.5 released

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by dynaflash, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #1
    Just released Handbrake 0.9.5 which among other things has an AppleTV 2 preset.

    http://handbrake.fr/

    Note: The appcast that triggers the auto updater from previous versions of HB has not been updated due to previous huge traffic issues, that will probably happen in the next day or two. However that said if you want it sooner just download it from the HB site and replace your old version with the new version.

    Have fun.
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #2
    Thanks for the heads up, dynaflash!
     
  3. TwinCities Dan, Jan 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011

    macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #3
    Awesome! Thanks for the "heads up", dynaflash! :cool:
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #4
    ^^Way creepy!

    I'm giving this a spin right now and a couple of things I've noticed right off the bat:

    -I'm using this on an old Windows XP and the Snappy™-ness factor of this new version is way up.

    -Instead of a pop-up command line screen giving details on the process, the main window now has a details and progress bar appear at the bottom. Looks much nicer and very functional.

    -The ATV2 preset starts at 1280 width compared to the ATV's 960 default.

    Right now, I'm making comparison videos of the ATV and ATV2 presets of a transcoded .avi file. Won't see the results until morning. I'm not expecting much of a difference, but wanted to look at visual quality and file size. I use handbrake to crunch video I've shot and post it to YT. I'm not an expert on any of it, which is why I love the quote on Handbbrake's page:
    They've done that and more. Thanks again, Handbrake Project Peoples.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Avalon Hill
    #5
    Just grabbed it...Thanks !!
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #6
    Handbrake is awesome and the new ATV 2 preset produces some beautiful HD encodes playable on both the new Apple TV2 and my iPhone 4. I've been using it ever since they added it to the nightly builds and its been making my PS3's Blu Ray drive quite lonely. :D I always get a little smile on my face when I Airplay this kind of quality straight from a little device in my hand to my 60" HDTV and especially when I did it at my friend's house on his ATV2.

    Much props to the developers!
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    Thats because the atv 2 can play 720p30 whereas the atv 1 can only play 720p24. So it made the preset much easier since it did not have to account for a 30fps source.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #8
    Awesome, I've been using this a lot since I got my ATV2 :D

    I'm guessing we should still avoid updating VLC though?
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #9
    Does this replace the nightly build?
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    The Mad Hatter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Has anyone tried playing a ATV2 preset encoded movie on an ATV1 (using the 23.9 framerate)?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #11
    The SSA subtitles burn in has too many issues to be useful, i feel it should of been left out of the stable release. Too many fonts over lap making it very hard to read and timing issues subs displaying the incorrect amount of time. Makes the feature pretty much useless.

    Other than that great update.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Clinton, New York
    #12
    I've been using a nightly build from a week or two ago to rip some dvds since I got an Apple TV 2 for Christmas. Is this about the same as the recent nightly builds? They wouldn't have changed any settings for the Apple TV 2 preset or anything would they? Just worried about stuff I ripped with the nightly and final version not being consistent.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #13
    nightlies from a week or two ago are fine. Don't worry. Major feature freezes were done before that.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Clinton, New York
    #14
    Good to know. Thank you.
     
  15. macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #15
    What a difference the native 30fps makes. My video is much smoother and the graphics look awesome. I shoot for TV in 4x3 and then use Handbrake to archive the shows This new ATV2 preset really improves the quality of the archive.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #16
    Glad it works good for you. Of course you could have set it up manually as a preset but I s'pose its easier to just use the built in. Either way ... win!
     
  17. macrumors regular

    fortunecookie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    #17
    Woe nice share! I wish I have read this before converting tons of videos with atv1 preset.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #18
    Can anyone confirm if this release includes the ability to make an AC3 Passthru track from mkv rips? That's my favourite feature of the nightly build over 0.9.4.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #19
    AC3 Passthru is only available if the source has an AC3 track. Just like its always been and has been so in the nightlies. Also 0.9.5 can encode other tracks to AC3 (yes, including dts tracks) which work great on both atv's (yes, just like the nightlies for the last month or so).

    Realize that 0.9.5 is todays nightly. There is no separate branch for nightlies vs. public releases.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #20
    Cool, thanks. I may not have been using the correct terminology, but it wasn't until I picked up on the nightlies that I realised that I wasn't getting a 6-channel audio track on most of my HD rips using 0.9.4. That release simply could not create an AC3 Passthru track from most of the mkv rips I fed it. The nightly had the ability to create one for every rip, regardless of source file.

    I'm having to re-rip most of my HD content anyway, so I don't want to make the same mistake again. I've checked the HB forums, and it seems pretty clear that this feature is in 0.9.5.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #21
    I think you are confusing AC3 Pass thru (which hb has had for years) with the new AC3 encoder. The former just passes thru the sources AC3 audio into the new file, the latter (which is new and yes is in the 0.9.5 release) will convert the sources non-AC3 track (mostly seen in mkv's with a dts audio track) into a useable AC3 track. The end result is the same pretty much but how you get there is different. Yes, all features that were in the nightlies are in 0.9.5 as of today.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #22
    I just downloaded the latest 64-bit VLC. Haven't confirmed the results, but it's doing its thing right now, so I think it's fine.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #23
    Thanks. Yes, this answers my question. It was the lack of the AC3 encoder in 0.9.4 that was my problem, in that I wasn't getting the 6-channel audio from most MKV rips.
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #24
    Thanks!:cool:
     
  25. macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #25
    Just found vlc 1.1, seems to be working OK.
    This is fast, about 50% faster than before :D (40fps up to 60)
     

Share This Page