HandBrake and H264 vs. MP4

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Blazer5913, Jan 11, 2007.

  1. Blazer5913 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #1
    I am currently encoding all my videos for the aTV, using Handbrake. I was wondering which format I should be using, as most of the videos will be watched on my big screen HD TV downstairs and in the future on the iPhone (not as much on the video ipod). So what are some settings I should be using when I do this? Basically best quality for a small size? Thanks
     
  2. Blazer5913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
  3. daveL macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    I use H.264, for your case you would probably want 2 different rips one for the HDTV and one for the iPhone, although i do not have a HDTV to test it one, so cant say for definite.
     
  5. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    2-pass encoding makes the files a little bit better.
     
  6. NaMo4184 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    #6
    MP4 is a file container. Sort of like AVI except it doesn't suck like dotAVI. You put your AAC audio + H.264 encoded video inside of a dotMP4 container. I haven't used hard break but I will, so tell me how this goes for you.

    By the way there is a chance that the Apple TV will just resize 1080p video to 720p. If you have the space and the time encode all your video in H.264 720p and 1080p and then with the Apple TV comes out see if it works. If I doesn't work just keep both file types until it eventually works.

    Good luck to you brother.
     
  7. Blazer5913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    #7
    I wasn't aware that HandBrake could encode in HD, can it? Thanks alot for all the input guys~ I'll stick with the h.264 encoding, with the 5channel audio... Hopefully it all goes well... Any other input I should be aware of? You think a bitrate of 2000 is suitable? Remember, its going on an HD tv, so I want it to look near DVD quality for non HD content... Mainly b/c its coming from a DVD (the movies that is)
     
  8. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    You should encode at whatever the original resolution of the videos are- are these DVD's, Youtube clips, HD trailers, etc...? It makes a big difference on the bitrate you're going to want to use in HandBrake.

    If they're DVD's, stick with the original resolution, and do 2-pass encoding with either H.264 or XVid. Either will look great, H.264 is a bit more efficient but XVid encoding will be faster. For DVD's a bitrate somewhere around 1500 to 2000 will be fine- I'd do a couple of test encodes and see with your own eyes (2000 kbps is probably not necessary but if you've got the space why not.)
     
  9. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #9
    DVD = H264 at 2500 , and two pass encoding if you don't mind waiting for an insanely long time...
     
  10. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #10
    What i use for my good movies, Spirited Away, Howls Moving Castle, etc.

    About 2x - 3x the length of the recording. This is with a Core 2 Duo iMac 2.16ghz with 2Gb of Ram.

    I just set a queue and leave it running over night.
     
  11. speedemonV12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    #11
    hey, i just downloaded handbrake, and i dont have an option for h.264 anywhere, is there something that i am doing wrong?
     
  12. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #12
    H.264 encoding with Handbrake

    within the 'Destination' area of the program, play with the 'File format' and 'Codecs' pull-down. you'll get it there.

    F
     
  13. ForeverUnknown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #13
    What's the difference between Main and Baseline x264?
     
  14. Jowl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Be aware that AFAIK Quicktime (and therefore Front Row) won't pass through the DD5.1 audio - so you'll get no 5.1 Audio if using QT or FrontRow.

    VLC will play 5.1 - although I've so far only managed this through a DivX file. I'm trying to encode using H264/AAC and get 5.1 sound that I will play through VLC. Just need some ore experimentation!
     
  15. speedemonV12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    #15
    so i have now found the h.264, but i was wondering if I should use AVI , or MP4, since i do not plan on putting these on an ipod, should i just use AVI, with h.264 mp3 audio, or h.264 AC-3 audio?

    and then under encoder, should i use the main profile, or baseline profile?
     
  16. ShermDog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago

Share This Page