Handbrake Audio Settings for Dolby Digital 5.1 with ATV 3 preset

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by miksterman, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #1
    Been coming across some Blu rays I'm ripping with MakeMKV that only has a Dolby Digital 5.1 audio. What I'm trying to do is setup the movie with a audio track for the television speakers and another track for surround system. When I bring the MKV file into Handbrake and select the ATV 3 preset the audio settings automatically go to one audio track as a AAC (CoreAudio) Dolby Pro Logic II and a second audio track as AC3 Passthru. If I wanted one of the audio tracks to be a Dolby Digital 5.1 track would I change the AC3 Passthru to AC3 (ffmpeg) for it to be 5.1 surround sound or would I use a different setting?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    The AC3 Passthrough is the original audio from your rip. It should say Dolby Digital 5.1 to the left of AC3 Passthrough in the audio pane.

    It's a drop down menu item.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Boise, ID
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #4
    The first image is how the ATV 3 setting does the audio. The second is how I was thinking but not sure if is the correct way.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #5
    Just leave the settings as they are from the ATV3 preset and you will get what you are trying to achieve. AC3 passthru means pass through the 5.1 track unaltered (i.e. no conversion, downmixing, etc). Therefore your encoded file will have one AAC stereo track for your TV and one unaltered 5.1 track for surround sound.

    If you choose your second option your converting the 5.1 track to another 5.1 track with ffmpeg - conversion always results in losing some information.
     

Share This Page