Handbrake causing incomplete encoding

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by German Toys, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #1
    I have searched a fair amount, and found that some have been having the same problems.

    When I encode using handbrake from a DVD or from a Video_TS folder off the HD, Handbrake only encodes about 3/4s of the movie. Leaving the last 20 or so mins out of the film.

    Movies I have tried:
    Superbad
    Simpsons
    Bourne Ultimatum

    I used mac the ripper to encode on the hd first, then used handbrake, with the same result. If copyrighted protection is playing a part in my problem, why would it cut off only the last 20 mins, why not the entire film.

    I am using 2.0ghz macbook w/2gb ram.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #2
    In that instance, I am not totally sure what is going on. Usually the copy protection is in the first few chapters, strange that it would fail toward the end.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #3
    I have try tu backup the bourne ultimatum and others new dvd with mac the ripper: it's dont wants to work. Did he worked by you without problem?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    West Coast
    #4
    Handbrake misses last part of some movies

    I have had the same experience with using handbrake to try to get some DVD's onto iPod. I tried ripping Spaceballs and 2010. In both cases, the last few minutes were cut off. I succeeded in ripping Pee Wee Herman's Great Adventure, and that complete movie made the conversion, so I'm not sure what's going on. Is it possible that it has something to do with double layered disks and the movie being broken into two different files, but Handbrake not automatically getting the second part? I don't know, I'm just hypothesizing.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #5
    I have successfully used Handbrake to re-encode The Simpsons for my Ipod Touch, so it can be done.

    Here's what I would do:

    1. Rip the movie with Mac the Ripper.
    2. Play the Video_TS folder using another program to make sure everything ripped correctly. (I use a pc (for now) so I don't know what program to recommend - I use Intervideo DVD or something on my pc which isn't anything special)
    3. Manually select the main movie on Handbrake (with The Simpsons, it's the file that is about 1h 28 min long)
    4. If you ripped the DVD correctly and there is still a problem with Handbrake, post a screen shot of your settings.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #6

Share This Page