Handbrake encodes Dolby 5.1 sound ?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by LevMac, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I have encoded my blurays through Handbrake for Apple TV 3 preset, when im streaming through to my Apple TV im not getting true 5.1 dolby surround sound though from my home theatre system.

    Do I have to run an optical audio cable from the apple TV through to the home theatre ?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    no. DD5.1 is carried via HDMI or optical
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #3
    Check to see if Dolby Digital is "ON" in the aTV setup menu. If it is, turn it off.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #4
    Doesn't the OP want Dolby Digital??
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #5
    Sorry, meant if it's on auto, set it to "on"

    No coffee yet.:eek:
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #6
    Thanks guys!! Will check the settings :)
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #7
    Ok, I checked my settings and Optical Audio was set to "Auto" so I changed it to "On" instead.

    Now my problem is when I play a movie thats been encoded in 5.1, im getting this hush/wind kind of noise, the sound is all jumbled and cannot understand a thing. The funny side is, when I switch Dolby Digital back to "Auto" the sound is fine but not surround sound :(

    Help ?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #8
    Can you provide some details on your setup? Equipment, cable connections, etc
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #9

    Yes, Handbrake can encode DD5.1 bitstream from a disk. Yes, you can play DD5.1 bitstream through your AppleTV. The problem I see it that either your image is encoded wrong, or something is wrong with your receiver. There has to be some settings in Handbrake that is messing up your rip. Or maybe your puter might be creating corrupted images somehow. I have experimented with Handbrake using my Imac and I can get a good solid video with DD5.1 bitstream going through my Apple TV. Now, it might be that you are encoding a Blu-ray. I only have experimented with DVD.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #10
    I have used HB to convert both dvd and BR, does a fine job on both. Since part of the problem was found (aTV DD set to auto), it is very possible that there are other aspects of the physical system that might be the source of the distorted audio. Waiting for more info on the system.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #11
    When you set the aTV to "auto", it is defaulting to the first track of the encode, which should be stereo. When you set it to "on" it looks for the DD track and play that instead of the default track (stereo). So there is either a problem with your system (hdmi cable, optical cable, connections, etc) or the DD track of the encode. Let us know about how you are getting your audio out and to what, also does the audio play ok on your computer using VLC media player and the DD track selected (yes, it will only play stereo on your computer)?
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #12


    A good way to test is hook up a Blu-ray player to the receiver and play a movie using DD5.1 bitstream. If you get an issue with the sound, then you know the problem is inside the receiver. If you do not get an issue with sound, then the problem is with the encode.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #13
    Thanks for the replies guys !

    I have my Apple TV connected through HDMI into my TV set.

    My Home Theatre system does not have a direct connection to the Apple TV but its connected into the TV via 3.5mm stereo cabling.

    I think what I need to do is buy an optical audio cable to go from the Apple TV into my Home Theatre, does that sound right ? :)
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #14
    Yes, that must be your problem. Even TVs with an optical output usually send simple digital stereo to the output. With an analog output, your set should be trying to convert the 5.1 channel input to a stereo output, but it sounds like it is not doing that properly.

    A direct optical connection from your ATV to your receiver should solve the problem. Best would be HDMI from ATV to receiver and from receiver to TV, but I'm guessing that you have an older receiver which does not do HDMI switching.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #15
    Spot on!
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #16
    Thanks guys :) optical cable worked perfectly!

    The sound is so amazing :)
     

Share This Page