Handbrake files too big

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by pvig42, Jun 8, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Apologies if this has been posted before.

    I've been using Handbrake for the past couple of years to rip my favourite films/programmes for use on my Apple TV 2 & 3, iPhone and iPad.

    I've updated to the newest version and when selecting "Universal" I have noticed that a 24 minute show is anything between 700mb to 1.1gb even though a show using the previous version was below or around 300mb. I'm not that savvy when it comes to settings in software but I was wondering if someone here may know how to get the file size lower?

    Many thanks.
    Paolo.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    potatis

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Thank you for the response but.........how do I downgrade? I'm checking online how to do it but can't find anything. Apologies for sounding and being thick :) The only way I can think of is restoring from time machine back up.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #5
  6. macrumors 6502

    Idgit

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    #6
    Is there a bug in version 0.9.9 that's causing the OP's oversized files?

     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #7
    Anyone who has the link for HandBrake 0.9.8 with Apple TV 3 preset? Would be very glad if someone will post it here.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #8
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #10
    No problem.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #11
    If you want the same results as 0.9.8 in 0.9.9 try this:

    Move the x264 presets slider one notch right to 'slow' instead of the exisiting 'medium'.

    This will slow down your encode (basically to what it was in 0.9.8) and give you a smaller file of the same quality.

    ----------

    Plus, realize unless you are comparing identical source files across HB versions ... each source will have a different final file size / bitrate depending on a number of factors like grain, complexity etc. This is well known among video encoders.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #12
    By the way, is there a Mac version for this?
     

Share This Page