Handbrake keeps crashing

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rbrian, Aug 12, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #1
    It was working OK, got through over 300 encodes, then crashed with 135 left in the queue. When I reload the queue, it crashes the moment I press start, again and again. I don't want to have to queue them all up again, is there any other solution? I have the latest version, so I can't update, I've tried restarting my Mac, but that doesn't make any difference.

    Mac mini 2011, OS 10.8.4, Handbrake 0.9.9 x86_64.

    I tried to attach the crash log, but it seems 51000 characters is more than will fit in a single post.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #2
    No clue why its crashing however what I would do is launch it. then go to your queue and grab the first movie (which would be the first encode when you hit start) and move it further down your queue, maybe even by just one or alternatively remove it from your queue. Then hit start. If it doesn't crash its an issue with that specific file.

    ----------

    Post your crash log on pastebin.com and link to it here.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #3
    Then you are running 0.9.9, you could try updating to a nightly if the steps above do not help.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #4
    My handbrake is flaky too, both Mac and Windows versions.

    I have heard handbrake for a long time, they never got passed the Alpha? What gives?

    What other good commercial (stable) converters are available out there, that doesn't require a second mortgage?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #5
    I tried moving the first file down the queue, but neither dragging nor right-clicking did anything.

    In the end I just emptied the queue and started again, this time with a smaller queue, so if it crashes again I'll lose less. I didn't want to waste all that time, but since I'd been ripping faster than transcoding I ran out of space on my scratch drives, so it was worth it to get everything moving again.

    Thanks for your help anyway.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #6
    Why not just delete the item from the queue that was causing the crash instead of the whole thing ?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #7
    Mostly because I didn't think of it... But if I couldn't move items in the queue, I might not have been able to delete them either. I'll bear it in mind for the next crash.
     

Share This Page