Handbrake leaves out main chapters

Discussion in 'iPod' started by freeny, Oct 31, 2005.

  1. macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #1
    Ive been trying to rip a dvd to the pod. For some reason handbrake leaves out any reference to chapter 21 all together. this happens to be the main feature chapter. ive ripped both chapter 23 and 24, them being the longest and assumedly the feature. this rips all but the first 10 minutes of the film. ive even ripped all the other chapters in hopes they are the missing segments but to no avail. any suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68000

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Handbrake seems a bit hit and miss when it comes to finding all of the content on the DVD. If it's missing you could try an older version of Handbrake (I've had some success with this), or another DVD ripping tool.
     
  3. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #3
    Wow... I haven't even been checking in Handbrake to make sure it was catching all of the chapters.

    Ah well... guess I'll see if there's anything missing when I actually WATCH any of the movies I've ripped. :)

    EDIT: Hang on a minute... that looks like a list of TITLES, not chapters. Are you using Mac the Ripper to rip the DVD to HD first, or are you using Handbrake to do everything?
     
  4. Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    use 0Sex to rip the DVD into 1 VOB file, then process that in HB.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #5
    osex?
     
  6. macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #6
    LOL, was thinking the same thing but i left it alone......guess u didnt:rolleyes:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #7
    well it turns out this is an actual program. will try it.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #8
    please be a little more specific. settings etc. by the way this app does recognise the missing chapters. so far so good.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #9
    Chapters, or titles? This is an important difference... can you post a larger screenshot illustrating the problem?

    And what version of Handbrake are you using? My version (0.7.0-beta3) does not list chapters in the way you've shown, but it does list TITLES that way.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #10
    Im referring to the app "osex" not "handbrake". dont know this program so a little assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    and for your second Q- im using handbrake 7.0 beta3. its leaving out titles not chapters.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    clayj

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    visiting from downstream
    #11
    Whew.

    I only do main feature extraction, which extracts ONE title... so I've never run into this problem.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #12
    I am doing a main feature extraction. this is the first time ive come across this issue. the dvd is one of those "special edition" directors cut blah blah blah. deleted scenes etc. it may have some special layout with some chapters/titles being referance chapters or alias's. its just the title which is the main feature is missing in handbrake. when i watch the movie the player says title 21. in handbrake there is no title 21. and yes my innitial title for this thread is incorrect. should be "handbrake leaves out main titles" (has been corrected)
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #13
    Maybe it's an issue more with Region 2 DVDs but for me if Handbrake doesn't find the content from the DVD itself, it doesn't fare any better with the same if it's copied using MacTheRipper or OSEx. The only thing that's worked has been going back to an older copy of Handbrake, and sometimes not even then.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #14
    so perhaps some dvds are unripable?
     

Share This Page