Handbrake Noob: Help

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by ZmyDust, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. ZmyDust, Feb 12, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2013

    macrumors regular

    ZmyDust

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    #1
    Hi All,

    I'm late to the party with Handbrake but just got a new Macbook Pro and was hoping to rip some of my dvds to keep on the macbook as well as watch thru apple TV. I am attempting to rip a certain new DVD release "Caped Crusader" movie, but am running into trouble.

    The video quality is poor. And I'm not being nitpicky that its not high quality enough, I mean the video is very pixlated, choppy, unwatchable, however you want to say it. See the screenshot of what I'm coming up with. Get the same result watching thru iTunes and the VLC player.

    Am I missing something? Is the DVD protected to cause this? What can I do to get a watchable rip? I am using the new version of Handbrake 0.9.8 64 bit and tried twice, output settings once as "Universal", once as Apple TV 2. Same result.

    Please help a handbrake noob.

    [​IMG]

    Oh and for what its worth, I was using this (older) guide and following the instructions to the T. http://www.macworld.com/article/1157590/how_to_rip_dvd_handbrake.html
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #2
    Try MakeMKV for the rip, and then use Handbrake for playback on your ATV. Try the high profile setting, and check the web optimized box.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    ZmyDust

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    #3
    Thanks, that worked just fine. Still kinda wondering why handbrake was giving me this issue as it comes highly recommended and I didn't see any similar issues, but this will get me started.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #4
    That looks like a decrypting problem. i.e. the copy protection is doing its job. Have you installed VLC along with Handbrake? VLC contains the decrypting gubbins that Handbrake 'borrows' from. So to get the best experience out of Handbrake you need to download VLC too.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #5
    If I'm not mistaken, VLC no longer provides the appropriate decryption tools needed by Handbrake and Handbrake should ask if you want to install the needed libraries. That said, I think using MakeMKV is the most reliable route to go as it's decryption capabilities is very solid.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    Oh good to know. I havent used HB for a few months :p I've always found decryption on HB to be 'solid' though but each to their own. :)
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #7
    Handbrake crashes when scanning MKV file...

    hey everyone im new to this site/forum so excuse me if im posting in the wrong section. i just ripped my first Bluray with Make MKV (Law Abiding Citizen) and i want to transcode it in hb. when i select the source MKV file, it says scanning title 1 of 1 and then crashes. every time. anyone have this problem or just a solution? thank you.
     

Share This Page