Handbrake on Maverick

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Accord3, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #1
    Hi guys

    Downloaded Mavericks this morning and all is OK apart from when i go to install Handbrake it says

    “HandBrake” can’t be opened because it is from an unidentified developer.

    Can someone please advise a workaround for this so i can install.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Designed4Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Location:
    I Wish I Knew
    #2
    go to system preferences, security and privacy, general, unlock to make changes and allow apps downloaded from anywhere :)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #3
    Brilliant thanks very much :)
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    #4
    You can bypass the restriction on a case-by-case basis, which I prefer, by right-click-opening the app and selecting Open when the warning pops up. You only have to do it once for each app.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    Vienna, VA
    #5
    Hold Control down and click on the program and click open then it will pop up saying "“HandBrake” can’t be opened because it is from an unidentified developer" but you should see something saying open and click open and it should work
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    #6
    thanks guys, installed and working fine now.

    Now to rip a load of DVD's _could be a while_ :eek:
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    #7
    is it works as it should

    Hi, I am still awaiting to hear if anyone has problems with Handbrake before I will install Maverick. Have you experienced any problems with Handbrake after you upgrade to Maverick ? or is it works as it should ?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    #8
    The latest version of Handbrake works fine for me under Mavericks.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    tgara

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
    #9
    Good to know, thanks.

    I ripped about 50 DVDs over the summer using Handbrake. As part of a renovation project in our living room, I decided to go disc-less for both movies and music and stream content to the Apple TV. Movies take a while, but it's so worth it.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Location:
    The Woodlands, TX
    #10
    I did the same this summer using combination of MakeMKV, Handbrake, and Subler.....over 300 movies, about 75 home movies, and about 15 TV series.....takes a long time, but truly worth it. No issues here on Mavericks either.
     
  11. r0k
    macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #11
    I've had no problems with Handbrake on Mavericks. Works as expected and rips take about the same time they took under ML.

    As for the System Preferences "Identified Developer" thing, you can temporarily set it to "anywhere", run Handbrake once and then set it back to "identified developers" or even "app store" and Handbrake will still work until the next time you upgrade it. Then it's a quick round trip to System Preferences to allow anywhere once again so you can run Handbrake just once. Anything that has been run once becomes "trusted".
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #12
    So I just discovered Handbrake about a week ago. All I can say is WOW! I'm going to be busy the next few months ripping my movies. A quick question, and I know it's not quite in the right place, but if I could find a blu-ray player for the laptop (I've heard a few exist), would Handbrake rip the blu version, or I would I still have to do the DVD version?
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #13
    To convert a (legally owned) bluray you need a 2 step process.

    1. Use a decryption app like makemkv to decrypt the movie and put on your hard drive.

    2. Run the decrypted movie (.mkv if you use the app above) thru handbrake to make an aTV/ipad compatible file.

    3. (Optional) use subler to Tag the file with box art/actors/description.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #14
    I currently use MetaX for tagging info (it was recommended in the article about Handbrake), is subler better?
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #15
    Don't know, never used MetaX.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Imac Sam

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Location:
    Harrisonburg, Virginia
    #16
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #17
    I didn't know it ceased to be updated, might have to try Z. Thanks for the link.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    #18
    Problems on macbook pro

    Handbrake works great on my mid 2010 iMac 27 inch i3 on mountain lion, but if I use my 2013 15 inch macbook pro with retina, mavericks, the video is completely distorted and skips. If I look at the live preview before I press start, the majority of the screen is green with different colored pixels flashing and you can see some actual video and sound skipping around. Anyone ever run into this?
     

Share This Page