HandBrake only ripping like 50 secs of video...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by xJus10x, Mar 28, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #1
    I'm trying to rip my Talladega Nights DVD because I plan on buying the :apple:TV soon, but when the rip completes there is only about 50 secs of video. I'm using HandBrake. Does anyone have any suggestions or alternate programs?
     
  2. SMM
    macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #2
    I have embarked on a similar project. So far I have ripped 213 DVD's. But, there have been 8 that did, just what you are describing. I have a PM and MP both working on the project and tried the DVD's in both. No luck. I did not have a lot of time to mess with it. So, I just used MTR. I have lots of disk space, and do not mind some of these DVD's being large. In summary, I have experienced the same thing, but cannot offer a solution. Sorry. :(
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
    I am willing to bet that the discs you are having problems with are Sony Picture Productions.

    The Sony movies are the only ones I have had problems with - it is a known problem over in the handbrake forum (something to do with sony intentional corrupting sectors and handbrake being unable to process them) but I have no real idea of how to get around it other than to boot into XP and use Clone DVD / AnyDVD to make an image than rip as normal.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    I have tried to rip Talladega Nights as well ( a few times with different settings) and cant get it to work. I have ripped like 300 some DVDs into my library so far, and only TN, and Donnie Darko have given me problems. Annoying for sure.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    Both are Sony Pictures - Mac the Ripper 3 (I believe that is the current Beta) can be used to decode the broken sector information and create an image of the disc that handbrake can handle.

    I think to recieve MTR3 Beta you have to donate money.
     

Share This Page