Handbrake Prematurely Ends Encode and Video is Scrambled

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by El Maestro, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Lots of great info on this part of the forum.

    I've just started ripping my DVDs and Blu-Rays and making a server out of our Mac Mini. I've done several seasons of several shows without issue, but something weird started happening: Handbrake is stopping an encode before the progress bar is done, and I get the Put Down the Cocktail message. The file size is way too big (several GB for a 44 minute episode of a SD DVD), and when I play the video parts of it are scrambled. This is happening with a couple of episodes in the first season of Stargate SG-1 if that matters.

    I'm using the ATV 2 preset with no changes. Most episodes are coming out between 600 and 800 MB and they look great.

    Any idea what's up and how to perhaps correct it? Google suggests some others might've encountered this but nothing concrete. Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Holly Michigan
    #2
    I had a problem like that last month. I deleted hand brake and reinstalled it. Took care of my problem.Maybe give that a shot.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #3
    Try ripping the movie with MakeMKV, then transcoding the mkv with Handbrake.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #4
    Thanks guys. I reinstalled Handbrake and the problem was still going on. I thought the issue was Ripit (I use Ripit to get a DVD image). So, to narrow it down I used Handbrake to rip AND encode. When I went to start the process I got a libdvdcss error (I didn't get that when I first started doing this a couple of weeks ago). I installed the libdvdcss package and encodes from Ripit images are working properly.

    mic, my next step was to try MakeMKV because I was able to use it for Blu-Rays without issue.

    So, I think libdvdcss was the issue, but I'm continuing to monitor it.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #5
    Hadd my preferences set for my HDD to sleep after 15 minutes, figuring that it would not go to sleep if Handbrake was running. Had a couple of movies I had ripped from DVD's that were missing about the last 10 minutes. WTF? I finally figured out that if my HDD went to sleep during a Handbrake session, when I woke it back up it would say it was done, but it actually was not. It would quit the Handbrake session when the HDD went to sleep. Had to reset my preferences it to not go to sleep when when I was ripping a DVD, problem solved.
     

Share This Page