Handbrake Preset and resolution

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Lucagfc, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    I wan't to convert some MKV (1920 x 800 pixel) to watch it on Apple TV (1280 x 720). The Handbrake default preset for Apple TV, instead of 1280 x 720, downscale the source to 960 x 400.

    Why the default preset made for a 720p device (Apple TV) use this strange resolution to downscale the original video?

    Should I manually change the resoulition to 1280 x 720 ?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #2
    yes..check custom and set to 1280X720..they look great
     
  3. macrumors 604

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #3
    A quick way to test your settings when tweaking them is to just do a chapter of a movie.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #4
    What I don' t know is why Handbrake preset use this strange resolution!

    Another question:

    for better quality should I set to 1280 x 720 also standard resolution video? in this case Handbrake execute upscale and the result could be better than play the standard resolution Dvix?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #5
    Because 1280x720p30 isn't compatible with the AppleTV v1, and the presets have not been updated with new device capabilities in mind.

    Upconverting a source would be a huge waste of bits, and isn't possible in the GUIs anyways.
     

Share This Page