Handbrake problems

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Amazee Dayzee, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #1
    I want to rip movies on the DVDs that I LEGALLY bought to put on iTunes but I am having problems with them. The first is that when I get it into a VLC format, I can't drag it to iTunes to play it and the second problem is its all pixelated. Any help? I am BEGGING you. I have an 18 hour road trip coming up and I need to put my movies on my iPod because my battery will die and we can't charge it. Help me PLEASE!
     
  2. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #2
    Gonna need to know waaay more than that. Which preset in hb are you using for starters ? What platform are you on (Mac, Win, Lin ) ?
     
  3. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #3
    The preset is x264 medium and I am using a MacBook Pro.
     
  4. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #4
    which HandBrake Preset ? I presume iPod given you are using it on an iPod ?
     
  5. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #5
    iPod Touch yes. And where do I find the preset?
     
  6. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #6
    um, in the HB presets. its a drawer on typically the right side.
     
  7. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
  8. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #8
  9. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #9
    Yeah, I haven't touched the presets at all. But under regular, it looks like normal is bolded.
     
  10. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #10
    um then maybe select the ipod preset ? Just a wild guess ... :rolleyes:
     
  11. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #11
    It's an iPod Touch, so do I hit iPod or iPod Touch and iPhone?
     
  12. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #12
    which ipod touch, they have 4 generations of them. Be specific for cripes sake if your in a hurry. 20 questions takes too long.
     
  13. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #13
    I went through ALL the presets and I used the Preview Window button. It STILL comes out all pixelated.

    ----------

    And it was the 5th generation iPod touch.
     
  14. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #14
  15. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #15
    I got it to play on iTunes, but it is still pixelated. HEEEEEEEELP!
     
  16. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #16
    .....Would SOMEBODY please help me? I spent 8 hours on this already. It shouldn't be that hard to fix it! Just tell me what to do! :mad:
     
  17. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #17
    well, since I don't know which ipod touch gen you have ... and you seem to think its pixellated with the ipod touch preset ...

    try the appletv 3 preset. last gen ipod touches can play it back. if you think that is pixelated on your ipod touch there isn't much I can say I guess.

    ----------

    BTW I presume your are using HandBrake 0.9.9 ? That is the latest but no matter really in your case. previous versions had proper presets for the ipod touch. nothing new there.

    Post a screenshot of this " pixellation " if you can. I have never heard of this.
     
  18. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
  19. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #19
    Afaik there is no way using the ipod or iphone preset you are getting noticeable pixellation on your ipod screen. That said the preset is also designed to save space while also keeping file size low due to the lower storage of the ipod.

    Like I said try the atv 3 preset and see if its any better. It should be. But be warned it will also take up more file size due to the higher rez.
     
  20. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #20
    So just because I'm getting pixellation on iTunes I won't get it on my iPod?

    And its a little clearer but not by much.

    ----------

    But will it still be pixellated when it goes on my iPod?
     
  21. dynaflash
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #21
    well, your mac has a much larger screen. so you are stretching it. don't test it in itunes. test it on your ipod. The preset is for your *ipod*.
     
  22. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
  23. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
  24. Amazee Dayzee
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    #24
    I'm gonna keep on posting until somebody decides to help me. It can't be that hard. :mad:
     
  25. anthony11
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #25
    Why would you use iTunes to play it instead of VLC??
     

Share This Page