Handbrake quit unexpectedly

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by 2197dave, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #1
    So I am using handbrake for a couple years now to format my video for Apple TV and out of the blue it starts with this error.
    It finds the file and when I press start it quits and the error msg pops up.
    I have used Appzapper to delete the program and download it again but it still gives me this error msg.

    Any ideas?
    I am using Snow Leopard. 10.6.8
    Help I want to get back to my series.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #2
    Um, what exactly is "The Error Message"? That in itself means nothing.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    designs216

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Down the rabbit hole
    #3
    I find that movies from certain studios, like Disney, that believe in heavy DRM tend to crash HB consistently.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #4
    not if you use open source title specific. it will not crash upon scan then.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #5
    Handbrake quits unexpectedly

    "Handbrake quit unexpectedly" is the error msg.

    I would love to get back to using handbrake or another program that will reformat my video for Apple TV. I am not ripping DVDs.

    Is there another program that will do the same thing?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    try upgrading to a handbrake nightly build. I had the same problem on brave and had to use a nightly build. worked perfect after that...
     
  7. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    What's the source of your video? HandyCam?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #8
    Thanks

    The handbrake nightly build works great. Thanks for the idea.
     
  9. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #9
    We're lazy. Why do that when the app can do it for you? ;)

    Excellent! Thanks for the help. The nightly worked for me as well (looks a little nicer too).
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    #10
    Handbrake quitting on "Avenger's" and "Brave" in Layman's Terms

    Put movie in, once the actual movie starts to play,
    go to top DVD Player Menu, select "Go", then "Title", Look at the title that has the check mark, i.e. 14 (I will use title 14 as an example). Stop DVD player.

    Now start Handbrake, at the top menu, select "Handbrake", then "Preferences", then "General", "At Launch", make sure "Show preset Drawer" is checked. In "Source Selection", select "Open Source (Title Specific)".

    Now go to "Source", Select the "Movie..i.e. Brave", then "Video_TS", then "Video_TS.BUP", then "Open", now you will get a pop-up that asks to "Scan title Number (i.e 14) for Video_TS.BUP", then "Open Title".....scanning will begin, then you can select "Start" like usual. :)
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #11
    I am having this issue with my handbrake. I've done everything you said here but I never to get the pop up menu. When I select the "Video_TS" it starts scanning and then 'quits unexpectedly again'. Any ideas?
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #12
    Well, the above instructions have you doing many things that have nothing to do with open source title specific.

    On Mac when you have the initial "Open" window ... where you select your source you can just hold down the Option Key when you click the Open button in that window. That will trigger the Title selection window. Also no need to select anything inside the VIDEO_TS folder. HB will scan all of that part for you and limit itself to just the title you specified.

    However as noted using a more recent HB for instance the 0.9.9 release candidate may make this unnecessary.
     

Share This Page