Handbrake settings for SD and HD?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Smileyboy, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #1
    I have a SD tv right now and a :apple:tv hooked up to it. I used the settings in Handbrake for the :apple:tv and now it seems that its cropped when I watch the movies. What setting should I use so that it looks good on the SDtv and the HDtv or what should I change in :apple:tv presettings. thanks
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    #2
    Thats not a question with an easy answer, as it depends on your source file and what quality you are looking for now and in the future.

    checkout the forums at http://forum.handbrake.fr/

    At a real basic level, your going to have a job getting a file look good on both SD and HD TV's due to there aspect ratio.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #3
    My source is straight off the DVD. I just picked the :apple:tv preset. I guess in a few weeks when I get my HDtv i'll see how the look. For now they look great.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #4
    The AppleTV preset is a very good place to start.
     
  5. macrumors member

    digitalmac

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #5
    I also wonder if the Apple TV preset can retain the 720p when converting from the DVD although I didn't see any degrade in my TV. Or is it possible to upscale it?
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #6
    DVDs aren't 720p though; they are 480p. Upscaling at the encode wouldn't make much sense as all you would do is increase the filesize for no more (likely less) benefit than you already get from your TV's built-in upscaler.
     

Share This Page