Handbrake speed on iMac

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by TofSanity, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. TofSanity macrumors 6502

    TofSanity

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #1
    ok...i recently purchased a 27" i3 but returned today for a i7. While using handbrake on the i7 it is running so much slower. i am using the same settings i used on the i3
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    What are you doing with HandBrake? Encoding a file that'd in your HD or DVD? DVD drive is very slow and might be that it was faster in your i3
     
  3. TofSanity thread starter macrumors 6502

    TofSanity

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #3
    from an external hard drive...everything is the same but the mac
     
  4. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    I have an i7 and I average around 80fps for a ripped DVD from my HDD with the default AppleTV settings.
     
  5. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    I generally get about the same with my i7 iMac. I have seen it go over 100 fps for some movies... but typically about 80 or so. I also convert using the default Apple TV profile.

    /Jim
     
  6. TofSanity thread starter macrumors 6502

    TofSanity

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #6
    maybe i am doing something wrong now. the i3 was about 80fps too now i am getting about 45fps. i am using the same settings regular high profile
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Remember that it depends on the file and its bitrate (i.e. quality). The higher the bitrate, the longer it takes to encode and thus it encodes less frames per second.
     
  8. TofSanity thread starter macrumors 6502

    TofSanity

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #8
    Hellhammer... what's the best settings to keep the aspect ratio close to or the same as the orig?
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    You can set HandBrake to keep the aspect ratio from the Picture Settings. I haven't tried different settings that much so I can't really help you with the best setting, I usually use iPhone or normal, they are fine for me
     

Share This Page