Handbrake Speeds

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jaxstate, Jun 25, 2006.

  1. jaxstate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #1
    I'm ripping a dvd (Cowboy Bebop) to mp4, and I'm wondering what speeds I should be seeing. I'm getting around 60 fps. My old Mac (800mhz iMac) use to take eons, around 6 hours, so I don't have anything to compare it to.
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    I'm glad you're getting around.

    I'm actually ripping FLCL to H.264 this morning, and it goes between 20-28fps. Standard mp4 you should be getting 2-3x as much, but the quality isn't nearly as high.

    I'm ripping the DVD to disc at the moment, as soon as I start encoding I'll give you numbers.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    I get 12-14 fps on my iMac G4 800 MHz. That is at 720 x 480 using FFMpegX, MPEG-4, MP3 audio, and in an .avi container.
     
  4. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #4
    Ripping to regular mp4 with FFmpeg gives about 65-75 fps, looks like.
     
  5. jaxstate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #5
    Thanks, I seem to be close to those numbers.
     
  6. jaxstate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #6
    When I was ripping with my iMac, I use to start it at night and let it run overnight.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I do most of my encoding overnight or while I'm at work. I'm going to buy a faster external DVD Burner for faster ripping with MacTheRipper and faster burning speeds. I can batch process my encoding but my ripping is a bit more manual.
     
  8. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #8
    Handbrake sucks for me for some reason.... When I encode, its fast as hell but usually bigger files, or long movies crash Handbrake at the end of the job, leaving me with a file that is unusuable....

    It works with a lower quality file, but I am going for max quality more or less :( and no one at the handbrake forums offer any support. :(
     
  9. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Handbrake

    Quick question...I am ripping a ton of DVDs with Mac the Ripper and then encoding them using Handbrake, some in h.264, some in mp4.

    My two computers are as follows:
    iMac G5, 17", 1.6 ghz, gig of ram (1st Gen iMac G5) and my 12", 1.5ghz, 1.25 gigs of ram powerbook. Both have the GeForce 5200 video card.

    Thing is, my powerbook DESTROYS the iMac when encoding mp4s (usually 40-50 fps compared to around 20fps) and even wins when encoding h.264.

    Any ideas? Does anyone KNOW if Handbrake is optimized for the velocity engine?

    Oh, on another note, when I used iSquint to convert other clips, my iMac G5 wins handily.
     
  10. jaxstate thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #10
    This just happened to me. Finished encoding in 40 minutes, then crashed. I'm going to encode it again and see what happens.
     
  11. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #11
    i get around 50-60 fps, up to 87 fsp occasionally, converting avis to mp4 at iPod size on MacBook stated below.
     
  12. Cdmphoenix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #12
    Hope this is on topic...

    I was wondering a few things about handbrake. I want to rip some of my dvd's for watching on my imac g4 1.0 ghz 768 ram 80 gb hd and I wondering what type of file I should save the dvds as and also what quality. It only has a 15 inch screen but I want pretty much the same quality as if I were watching the actual dvd. I'm going to purchase an external HD (probably about 500 gb) for storing the video. The computer doesn't have many files on it and is only using about 30 gb on the internal drive. Any suggestions? Thanks.
     
  13. myalene macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #13
    I get between 100-132 fps on my new 8-core Mac Pro.
    I suspect i am I/O bound as its usually runs at around 30% CPU
     
  14. Raid macrumors 68020

    Raid

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    There are a ton of threads here with handbrake settings, but honestly I find Handbrake limited in both file size and quality.

    ... That is even at the highest quality settings I had a hard time getting the image quality I wanted and within the 4gb limit. In my search for a solution I found that Flip4Mac has is beta testing a new program called "Drive-in"; it essentially copies the entire DVD to a playable image on your HD. (Since you don't appear to be worried about HD space it might be an option for you.) Once they get it working with Front Row I'd buy it instantly

    Wow and I though my average of 95 fps was good!
     
  15. Cdmphoenix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #15
    Thanks! I haven't even got the computer yet, should have it next week and when i do I'll definitely check that out.
     
  16. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #16

    I posted this almost 2 years ago now.

    Handbrake is outstanding for me now. I Moved from a iBook G4 with Tiger and a way old version of handbrake to this new MacBook Pro, Leopard, and the latest and greatest version of Handbrake.

    Encoding is fast as hell for ok quality MP4 files, and pretty slow for High High Quality H.264 Files, but thats ok. I rarely have an issue with performance quality or reliability anymore.

    Handbrake rules! :D ;)
     
  17. Cdmphoenix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #17
    Why so slow?...

    I've been using handbrake and it starts at 10 fps and withing 5 minutes is down 2 fps and stays there... I have an imac g4 1.0 ghz 768mb ram. Does anyone know why it runs so slow the files I'm making are only 250 mbs.
     
  18. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #18
    Our stock 2.8GHz Mac Pro rips a DVD in the "iPod Hirez" preset at somewhere above 100fps. It's crazy...
     
  19. rodman109110 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #19
    there is an option to go above 4gb but it says it breaks certain device compatibility.
     
  20. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #20
    question...

    are you encoding in h.264? Not many G4s (hell, not very many single G5s) handle h.264 encoding very well.
     
  21. mechler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #21
    Makes me want to get a Mac Pro...

    I'm getting ~20fps on the Iphone setting (H.264) with a 4 yr old pc laptop.
     
  22. Cdmphoenix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #22
    Thanks appleretailguy!

    I changed to mpeg4 and its at least up to 15-16 fps on an imac g4 1.0 ghz 768 mb ram. Much better, thanks again. :)
     
  23. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #23
    :)

    You're very welcome. I used to be in the same boat as you (12" 1.5 pbook or single G5 imac were my options), so I used mpeg4 exclusively.

    But then my roomie brought home her quad core G5, which encodes h.264 at about 110 fps.
     
  24. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #24
    Recently (probably after the 0.9.2 update) I've started having issues with Handbrake performance on my 2 GHz Core 2 Duo MacBook with 2 GB RAM.

    I was always using H.264 iPod profile 640x480 no deinterlacing 1400 Kbps 2-pass settings and was getting 30-40 FPS.

    After 0.9.2 update I've been using iPod hi-rez settings, just 1400 kbps instead of default 1500 and 128 kbps audio and now I'm getting only 22-28 FPS.

    Any ideas what could be the cause?
     

Share This Page