Handbrake SVN now has AC3 in the MP4 container

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Diode, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #1
    Handbrake has the AC3 patch for a MP4 container in their svn

    http://trac.handbrake.fr/changeset/1261

    I'm not at home so I can't test how well it works but reports are saying so far so good.

    For those willing just compile from source ... otherwise wait for the release ... no idea how long it will take.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #2
    Sorry for my ignorance but is this something in an update or how do I utilize this info? I use HB a lot and want to take advantage.

    Kevin:apple:
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #3
    does this mean VH will be getting a mp4 container soon too?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #4
    For now you need to compile the code from the SVN in order to gain the feature. Anyone can do this but it takes some technical know-how to perform.

    I'm sure they will release a update soon when they think the update is stable enough for general use.

    It's implemented into the gui by selecting the 3rd mp4 option ATC/H.264 / AC-3

    No idea .. I would assume they are not far behind. Don't use that product so I don't follow it's development.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #5
    Kevin,

    To use this you would have to download the source code from the developer's subversion repository and compile it yourself. If you don't already know how to do that (I don't!) then you're better waiting for the full release.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #6
    If you do compile your own, please do not expect to receive any support for this feature... they strongly discourage users reporting problems with SVN code on their forums; it is really there so that other developers can help.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    OldSkoolNJ

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
  8. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #8
    You sir are correct. I posted this merely to show that a solution has been found and is in the pipeline for a future release.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #9
    Great news. Sounds like I have to recode all my dvds or do you anticipate there will be an easy way to convert just the audio?
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #10
    The handbrake developers themselves are planning on re-encoding after this release. There is also going to be better iPod encoding with anamorphic support as well.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #11
    visual hub was updated earlier on today- with support for take two.:cool:
     
  12. macrumors 68000

    FreeState

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    Only on .mov files though right? I need .mp4 to hold the meta tags...
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #13
    What sucks is that it seems that it still only works on the ATV, because it will only have the AC3 track, and not a mix of AC3 and a AAC stereo.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #14
    to be honest mate with my g5 it's gonna take me a while to find out! Started my first encode last night, and it currently says...

    Looks like I lied, file 1 will be done when it's done.

    I love VH :p
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #15
    DD 5.1 work on VH, but your right its a .mov file. You do lose MetaX tagging, as well as chapters and subtitles for foreign films.
     
  16. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #16
    I wouldn't be surprised to see that 0.9.2 will have both AC3 and AAC 2-channel embedded in the transcode. Patience...
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #17
    Oh, I know they are working towards it... but right now Handbrake's design doesn't understand how to handle encoding different audio streams into different codecs (or passing them through in this case).

    Depending on what they want to do for 0.9.2, they might not have time for such work.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #18
    Nor would I.
     
  19. macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #19
    So as an experiment, I encoded a few chapters of a Ratatouille as both an MPEG-4 with AAC and MKV with AC3.

    Then I extracted the AC3 sound file out of the MKV file, pasted it into the MPEG-4 file and voilà.

    Seems to work fine on both my Apple TV and through QuickTime (with Perian 1.1 installed). I was quite surprised that the audio and video actually synced up.

    Anyways, I think I'll wait for Handbrake to get updated before I do any full re-encodes.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #20
    yeah I tried an old AC3 experiment file with the new :apple:TV and it played in 5.1 fine. Will need to have Perian on any mac that I want to be able to listen to the new encodes but that's no big deal. Looks like I will have dual encodes for each movie::apple:TV5.1 and iPhone/iPod.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #21
    That is exactly what they are working on.
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #22
    How are you accomplishing this? I'm trying to put the AC3 audio from an .MKV into a .MP4. I've tried doing it in QuickTime but it just puts the two files end to end (video plays and then the audio plays).
     
  23. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #23
    Make sure your scrubber is all the way to the left (start point) before you add to movie.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #24
    Handbrake SVN now adds AAC and AC3 tracks so that the audio works no matter what.
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #25
    Cool thanks for the update ... I'll have to check it out.
     

Share This Page