HandBrake too much for my iMac? What about porting over to my PC?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by kalel15, Jul 5, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #1
    I have an old 17" iMac 800 MHz PPC G4 with 768 MB Memory. I expect HandBrake to run slow due to my CPU as HandBrake's performance is directly tied to CPU. This is my first ever attempt at doing this and everything was fine up until I started running the HandBrake piece - I used the directions posted here ... http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2937

    There were two encoding tasks and the first one took about 10 hours (~5 fps). However, the second task has now begun and the fps has dropped to ~1. Any idea why this happens on the second run?

    Other question ... Could I take the file that I have completed post DToX (and pre HandBrake) and port that over to my PC Laptop (2 GHz CPU) and throw it in to HandBrake on my PC?

    I have found bits and pieces of info (some of which I admit I am too new to understand), but can't seem to nail it down. Thank you in advance.

    Cheers,

    -J
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #2
    The first pass was likely the "turbo pass" on the disc - the second is the real run, which will take a lot longer. I'm not sure Handbrake was designed with your iMac G4 in mind :-(
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #3
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #4
    Yes, the two passes do different things, and the 2nd one is usually slower. Unfortunately an 800MHz G4 is just not enough for any sort of video encoding, unless you want it to take days.

    You can indeed take the folder DVD2One gave you and put it on your laptop and run handbrake there. It should give you a significant speedup, although how much depends on what type of chip it is. There's a big difference between a 2GHz Pentium-M and a 2GHz Core2 Duo. Either way, it should get it down to a reasonable encode time, and you'll have a file that works fine on your Mac.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #5
    It took days ... and converting it to iTouch/iPod is taking even longer

    Dudes et al., thank you very much for the help. I actually finished encoding - it only took 27 hours (for The Incredibles). I used the "normal" setting in Handbrake and it gave me a super widescreen aspect ratio. For some reason it made the movie wider than what the settings said in "normal". Oh well. I need to keep trying and will attempt the porting to the laptop ... just need to go get a memory stick big enough now.

    Is there any way to connect external Hard Drive connected to my iMac over to my laptop (and have the laptop actually read it). The Hard Drive is formatted for the Mac, so I suppose not (Laptop shouldn't recognize it), but you guys out there are pretty good at this stuff, so I figured it was worth asking.

    Thanks again for the help and direction. I will keep pining away. I now have extra ammo for discussions with my wife regarding needing a new Mac.
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #6
    I wouldn't bother using a memory stick or hard drive, just hook them together with an eithernet cable and transfer the files that way. If you want a Mac hard drive to work with a PC you'll need a piece of software called Mac Drive; I have not used it, and don't know how well it actually works. The best bet for a hard drive is to use a FAT-32 formatted drive; then it will work on both the Mac and PC.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #7
    You can buy software for Windows that will read a mac partition, but I think in your case the easiest way would be to just get a network cable and connect the laptop to your mac, set the mac up for file sharing and you should have no trouble in copying the file(s) across.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #8
  9. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #9
    Is Handbrake compatible with it now? What about the fact we're stuck on USB 1.1?

    I you have a much faster PC around please use it.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #10
    Ohh, didn't think of that. Definitely use your PC.
     
  11. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    Next time, test it with a short portion section first before spending the time encoding and then find out you have the wrong aspect ratio (movies have different ratios, but typically you keep it as is when you encode).
     

Share This Page