Handbrake

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by GermanyChris, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #1
    So I've been unimpressed with the performance of handbrake. I'd been averaging 20ish FPS with every movie I'd convert. Last week I started looking around the internet for an older version of handbrake that might be happier to play with PowerPC. I went to (www.oldapps.com) and downloaded .90 which is from 2007. This week I've run six movies through HB and none of the have have converted at less the 70fps. During that time my RAID card came in and I've installed it, the movies are located and transcoded on that RAID array but I don't believe that is the only cause of the increase in speed. I believe that HB .90 is the reason for the increase far more than the RAID card w/array. This is just a headsup, I'd be curious to know if some of you gentlemen notice a difference if you try it.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Hungary
    #2
    0.9.4 is the last officially supported build, I think. Have you tried 0.9.5? I came across a 0.9.5 ppc build here.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    I'm using the latest version with great results...Will do some more over the weekend, too busy setting up my new iPad and the ATV3:)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #4
    I wasn't impressed with the new builds..
     
  5. macrumors regular

    kumquat

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #5
    Wow, you were getting 20fps?! I'm running 9.1 and averaging between 4 and 9 fps! It's unbearable!

    pistooli, will that 9.5 build work on 10.4.11?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #6
    lol, you have to mention what codec your using as saying i get 20fps is useless unless you state the compression type and settings..
     
  7. macrumors regular

    kumquat

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #7
    Mp4/h.264
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #8
    mate, as per the other post, its a loosing battle with h.264 on ppc. even on my Quad, it took forever.
    oh on hb.90, i know that HB does hardcode settings in some of its versions. So you may find that your getting a speed increase due to lower quality. have a close look at the exact setting your using for compression..
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #9
    I just transcode DVD rips..
     
  10. macrumors regular

    kumquat

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #10
    What settings have you gotten decent speeds with?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #11
    I just duplicate to my HD and use default settings to transcode..

    I really don't know much about this stuff..
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Hungary
    #12
    I do not have Tiger installed, so can not confirm.
     

Share This Page