Happy I switched but ... MS Office ...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Haouka, Jul 15, 2004.

1. Haouka macrumors newbie

Hello

I have been using PC laptops for 10 years at work and I still do. I use mostly Excel, PowerPoint, Word and Outlook.

I just received a 12" PB, I really love it for iTunes, iPhoto, ... but I cant get used to Office v.X; here are my problems, maybe there are solutions:

- I'm used to having each application using the whole screen which is nice given its a laptop and it also helps getting concentrated on 1 thing at a time ... with my Mac, I have all these windows and pallets, and even if I try to maximize the size, there are still some areas not covered ... looks a bit messy

- when I use Excel or Word with my Mac, the size is systematically too small and I have to zoom to 125% size to be able to read something ... with my PC it seems to be always right at 100% and easier to read. Does it have something to do with resolution?

Thanks

2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

mkrishnan

I think I have this problem about as often on PC and Mac (I got my first iBook in late December so I am still using a lot of Excel files I made on Office 97). But one thing I noticed is that *for me*, turning off quartz extreme font smoothing in the Excel preferences makes the text slightly easier to read. Go to the Excel menu -> Preferences -> View tab and it is on the lower right.

3. Vanilla macrumors 6502a

Yeah I get this as well, though I note that if you resize say an Excel document and save it, from then on whenever you re-open it, it will open to the saved Zoom level.

Vanilla

4. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe