Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ladybug

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Apr 13, 2006
Its been one week since I received my shiny new 20" Intel iMac. I thought I'd share my first thoughts about the whole switching process for any prospective switchers out there who might be interested. I've been using pc's for 15+ years now. This wasn't a rush decision. It took me 4 months of reading to make up my mind.

I started looking at Macs because I was concerned about the security issues in Windows XP. And while MS has gotten better about security, I just don't think it will ever be as safe as it should be.

I'd read various things about OSX over the years, and with Apple using Intel processors, and providing Boot Camp, I thought its now or never. I put my order in and waited anxiously for my new baby to arrive. I figured even if I absolutely hated OSX, I could always install Windows. That was my safety net.

It's only been a week but I can tell you now, I won't be using Windows as my OS anymore. I've gotten a taste of OSX and I won't be going back. I do have Boot Camp and Parallels up and running with XP, but I will only be using it as a necessary evil until I can afford to replace all of my windows software or the occasional game.

I'm quite impressed with the operating system and the apps I got with the system. Expose totally rocks, and Widgets are just plain cool. Garageband is fun to tinker with and making faces in Photo Booth is silly but quite entertaining. All the apps seems very intuitive and easy to use.

Plugged my external hardware into the computer and I've not had any problems. OSX found my DLink router without a hitch, no drivers needed for my HP printer. Tested my USB hub, no problems there, plugged in my USB Logitech Headset and that works nicely too.