Hard Drive Capacity?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chosenwolf, May 19, 2006.

  1. chosenwolf macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    Why does Apple (along with other computer companies) advertise hard drives that are of bigger capacity than they actually are? My 17" MacBook Pro states that it comes with a 120 gig hard drive. However, in preferences, the capacity is listed as 111.47GB

    Furthermore, I re-installed OSX without all the extra features and I have 97 gigs available only! All my HD equates to 10 gig currently.... If my capacity is 112, and everything on my mac is only 10 gigs, what happened to the other 5 gigs? From 120 to 97.... Horrible =/
     
  2. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    All manufacturers of hard drives give the unformatted number. Once you format, you lose a few gigs. That's just the way it works.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Yeah, it's just the industry standard. It's like asking why the USA doesn't use the metric system. It's something so fundamentally illogical, nobody will ever understand it. :(
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Still a better investment with more honest marketing crap, than buying money late at night on television.
     
  5. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
  6. Peyton macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #6
    cool it aussie, or I'll cut you with a 7 inch blade.


    ***hmm, ponders***

    Does apple sell you all their laptops in centimeters? :confused:
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  8. Peyton macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #8
    They box fruit there? :confused:
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    :D

    Computer monitors are still labelled in terms of inches, but TVs are both. I was just ribbin' 'bout the metric thing BTW.
     
  10. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    It really doesn't have much to do with formatting...the much bigger reason is the gigabytes/gibibytes conversion. More info here.
     
  11. Peyton macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #11
    see, ok, I think this is a perfect example of why people think Americans are stupid.

    Australians (and who ever else is in the same metric position i.e. the rest of the world) has to put up with our inches and feet etc. Americans don't put up with the metric system, unless you are into cars and have foreign parts etc. Therefore, when asked about the metric system, most look foolish for not knowing, because there is really no reason to. Therefore other countries think we are more ignorant. I think this goes for a lot more things.

    I think American TV piped around the world also gives other countries a inside look at some of our culture, and therefore other countries are more cultured, and the US is kind of, incestuous with itself culturally. I think that made sense. :confused:

    'Ribbing' is not a slang term used here. Please speak english for all minority groups to understand madjew. Where are your manners. :rolleyes:
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12

    Manners? I am Australian. But we digress...

    wickedG35, if you think there's still some unaccounted for space missing on your hard drive, use an app like OmniDiskSweeper to narrow down where it could be. :)
     

Share This Page