Hard drive mounting and owner ship.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TheNightPhoenix, Mar 9, 2007.

  1. TheNightPhoenix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #1
    Hi

    I brought in a hard drive to work to take home a project. However it does not mount in OSX.
    I noticed this in disc utility

    Owners Enabled : Yes
    Can Turn Owners Off : Yes

    All the other hard drives have owners off. I'm guessing my home suite is the owner and I need to change this setting to allow the drive to mount at work... any ideas how?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    How are you connecting it and how is it formatted?
     
  3. TheNightPhoenix thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #3
    Tried both Firewire and Usb... direct in the back of the machine.
    Its Mac extended.

    Some more info.
    Name : My Book One
    Type : Volume

    Disk Identifier : disk3s10
    Mount Point : /Volumes/My Book One
    File System : Mac OS Extended
    Connection Bus : USB
    Partition Type : Apple_HFS
    Writable : Yes
    Universal Unique Identifier : 9EAF49A0-ECBF-389F-A7EE-F23BA508E2B5
    Capacity : 372.5 GB (399,953,297,408 Bytes)
    Used : 0 Bytes
    Number of Files : 0
    Number of Folders : 0
    Owners Enabled : Yes
    Can Turn Owners Off : Yes
    Can Repair Permissions : No
    Can Be Verified : Yes
    Can Be Repaired : Yes
    Can Be Formatted : Yes
    Bootable : Yes
    Supports Journaling : Yes
    Journaled : No
    S.M.A.R.T. Status : Not Supported
    Disk Number : 3
    Partition Number : 10
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Okay, you should be able to change the owner settings through the Get Info page (COMMAND-I when the disk is selected), obviously when the disk is mounted on your home computer.
     
  5. TheNightPhoenix thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #5
    Theres no way to disable this from work?


    Was hoping to get the edit finished by monday.
     
  6. 4np macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    If you have a mount point it's mounted:

    If you go there you can access it...
     
  7. TheNightPhoenix thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    #7
    But... its not. It's not showing up anywhere in the Finder. I assume thats to do with the ownership issue. I was hoping someone whould know a way to do it through the terminal or such.
     

Share This Page