Harddrive in dvd bay

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BrenMyster, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #1
    Hey

    I'm looking to put a hard drive in my extra dvd bay in my mac pro, it's a mid 2010 version,

    can anyone point me in the right direction to get this adapter, preferably in the uk.

    and do I need a cable?

    Cheers

    B
     
  2. macrumors 601

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    Any cheap 5.25" to 3.5" adapter will work. Assuming you are using a modern SATA hard drive, you don't need a cable. The 2010 MP already has SATA data and power cable in place, ready for the drive.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    #3
  4. macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    The brackets to do this are dirt cheap at Frys and Newegg. You don't really need anything special.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #5
    MacPro? Have you already used the 3 extra hard drive bays and need 1 more?
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #6
    Well...

    In bay 1 - SSD boot disk
    In bay 2 - RAID 0 drive #1
    In bay 3 - RAID 0 drive #2
    In bay 4 - Stock 1TB drive

    So if you want a "large" HD, like a 2TB or 3TB for backups, you may want to put one in your optical drive...this is my current setup above, and this is what I am thinking about doing with my Mac Pro...adding a "large-capacity" 3.5" SATA II drive to my optical bay, to use for backups.
     

Share This Page