Hardware difference between Verizon/AT&T iphone 5

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rileyb76, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #1
    I am a Verizon customer but found a used iphone 5 (AT&T) on Craigslist. Can you use these on the Verizon network?

    TIA
     
  2. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    No, you cannot.
    You can use a verizon i5 on AT&T but not the other way around.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #4
    so it seems like its better to use get a CDMA phone because it can be used any where
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    OK, USA
    #5
    Not a Sprint one though. The Verizon ones are the only CDMA ones that come GSM unlocked.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    Could you please explain how that is possible in language that a non-geek user of an iphone 5 would understand? :)
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #7
    You can use a verizon iphone 5 on at&t because it's "allowed" to access at&t's type of network, but only the slow 3G network, not the fast 4G network.

    The at&t iphone 5 on the other hand, cannot access verizon's network because verizon doesn't allow it.

    Just pretend you're buying a car from america versus Afghanistan, where the American car is verizon and Afghanistan car is at&t. The american (verizon) car works in both countries because it meets both the strict american (verizon) clean air regulations as well as no regulations in Afghanistan (at&t). But the Afghanistan (at&t) car wouldn't be allowed to run in america (verizon) because it puts out too much pollution.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #8
    That's great...thanks! :)
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #9
    As I understand the models, everything is the same except for the LTE bands. I think. LTE uses a ton of frequencies, and not everybody is available on any one chip.
     

Share This Page