Hardware test without disc.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AnonMac50, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. AnonMac50 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I've read that Early 2008 model MacBook Pros can boot into the Hardware test while pressing the D key on the keyboard without the disc in the drive (or was it the F2 key). I've also read that lots of people succeed doing it. Why does my MBP not do that? Thank you.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
  3. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #3
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    Are you holding the function key when you press f2?
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose (CA)
    #5
    Apple told me you don't need the disk… Results may vary I guess.
     
  6. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #6
    I tried with and without, nothing.

    Cool, so I'm not one of the lucky ones?
     
  7. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #7
    IIRC, starting with the unibody models, the Apple Hardware Test could be done without the install/application discs by holding down the "D" key as a pre-boot option BUT only if the original installation of the OS was present. So if you had Leopard and then installed to Snow Leopard, AHT would not load and would need to be done through the discs.
     
  8. Blaine macrumors 6502a

    Blaine

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Abilene TX
    #8
    Yupp, I think you're right ;)
     
  9. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #9
    OK, cool. So I'm guessing since I upgraded to Snow Leopard, did a zillion Time Machine restores, and installing a new HD, I'm not getting the AHT?

    Oh well, I still have my disc. :):)
     
  10. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #10
    Just incase anyone was reading this now (even though it is old), all you have to do is install CPU Help Files that come with the computer. My optical drive refused to read the disc (it does that with some perfectly fine disc), I used Remote Disc with a MacBook to do that.
     
  11. phenry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    #11
    Thanks, Anon. Same problem with optical drive on a 2006 white iMac. I used Remote Disc to read the Install Disc 1 (OS X 10.4.7) from another iMac, and ran the CPU Help Files.mpkg installer but still couldn't get the AHT to show up on restart. Tried starting up with the D key, F2, and fn + F2 but no luck. Any ideas why it didn't work? Which key did you use to get it to work?

    Because it's an iMac I guess?
     
  12. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #12
    I believe it was the D key. But I think the reason it won't work on your iMac is because it is the 2006 white iMac (I think some of the older models don't work with this, sorry :()
     
  13. phenry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    #13
    Hey, thanks. It was an interesting exercise anyway, activating Remote Disk, and running the install. This iMac is only emergency backup anyway, and I guess TechTool hardware test might be as good as AHT.

    Appreciate your reply.:cool:
     
  14. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #14
    Anytime :D
     

Share This Page