Has 10.6.4 Improved Your Gaming?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MikhailT, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #1
    I was wondering if anybody notice any performance gains from 10.6.4 update? I saw some people reporting being able to max out their settings for their resolutions with good FPS, 330m and 9400m as well.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    heaven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    #2
    Nope. TF2 and Portal still run as horrendous as before. Was just forced to do a hard restart after trying it out :mad:

    Well back to Bootcamp then..
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    REM314

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Its made TF2 unplayable for me. This sucks.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #4
    made TF2 run slightly better but ruined Counter Strike Source Beta.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #5
    Nothing at all. Hopefully with the next update, I'll be able to apply AA to my games, the last major setting left I haven't been able to enable in my games. I read either here or in the Steam forums, that 10.6.4 was already in the works by the time Valve started working closely with Apple, so 10.6.5 may see more meaningful progress, for more people.
     
  6. macrumors member

    DarkCloud2015

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #6
    10.6.4 improved things a bit for me, from ~30 fps I'm now getting ~60 fps regularly, up to around 100 and sometimes higher (highest I was able to see was around 170). No anti-aliasing, even with 2x fps tanks to 15.

    I'll post pics and specs later.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #7
    Jesus--that's more than a bit! I am envious with hate.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    DrDomVonDoom

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Fairbanks, Ak
    #8
    I was actually gonna come on here and see if it ruined any one elses TF2 gameplay, after the new upgrade my game is all shoddy...it clips a bit now in outdoor maps. WTF....
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #9
    Seemed to help a tad, but not much. Fu**ing annoying how it crashes every hour though. Looked at log file and had to do with airport.

    If you guys are laggy, i could give you a cfg and tweak it specifically to your system. Ive done it to my mid 2009 mbp and i have gained quite a bit of fps over just stock.
    This is coming from a pc gamer >< :p
     
  10. macrumors regular

    emdotdee

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Widnes, Cheshire, England.
    #10
    Half life 2 episode 1 worked smoother for me after the update but something else has messed up and i don't know if it's the update or if I have caused it.

    Most of the onscreen images or HUD stuff has changed to characters, so the aim looks like a Q, when I pick up items such as health i get * and all my weapons have J K L M N P instead of images of the actual weapon. It's very strange, anyone else come across this?
     
  11. macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
  12. macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #12
    For me theres now big improvement in the high end fps but the low end is much higher and there is no ware near as much jutteryness or slowdowns.

    This is for both HL2 and Portal.
     
  13. macrumors member

    revanmj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Poland
    #13
    It improved performance a little for me. And finally I can enable AA without a big slow down :)
     
  14. macrumors member

    DarkCloud2015

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #14
    Still no anti-aliasing though, setting it even to 2x will tank fps rate to about 15. And I have an ATI 4850 :(
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    I wonder if the performance jumps where more for nvidia than ati. I seems the trend than the 9400m and newer nvidia parts got a some extra speed, it also seems the difference is not in the highest fps possible but in the lowest.

    On my machine and a few friends(One a new macbook) we had stuttering when moving quickly and with things like liquid, fire and any occasion where sound would change suddenly(voices). Now the lowest end of the scale is much highest than it used to be with no or minimal stuttering and voice not adversely effecting gameplay.

    Though as valve said no one promised that 10.6.4 would be the saviour of gaming, graphics improvements were promised and delivered with 10.6.3 but never promised for 10.6.4. Valve are saying however that they are working with Apple, ATi, and nVidia.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #16
    2008 MBP with 8600m chipset,Portal is noticeably slower after 10.6.4,input lag and stuttering that wasn't previously there...

    Disappointing,I was hopeful after the reports on performance increases that things would improve,instead it's got worse :confused:
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #17
    No, it got worse. On my 4850 on 10.6.3 I was able to max out everything except for anti-aliasing in TF2 and get 60fps with the rare drop noticeable drop. In 10.6.4, it constantly dips down to 20FPS in a decent amount of action with the exact same video settings I was using in 10.6.3. Really disappointing.

    EDIT: Turns out it was just a problem while playing with bots. The FPS was no better or worse in 10.6.4 while playing online.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #18
    Guess I'll be holding off on that 10.6.4 update (flashed ATI 4870 here)
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    mixel

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #19
    Seemed to get a bit better on my MBP 9600m. :) Seems much smoother at high texture levels .
     
  20. macrumors member

    DarkCloud2015

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #20
    I stated before that 10.6.4 improved my fps rates (In Portal and HL2 anyway, haven't finished with TF2). I took some screenshots before and after upgrading, in certain areas where games usually lagged a bit for me. For Portal, the final area with GLaDOS. For HL2, when you get outside in chapter Point Insertion, looking at the Citadel.

    My specs:
    iMac i5 2.66 GHz
    4 GB RAM
    ATI Radeon HD 4850

    My video settings:
    [​IMG]

    Portal (10.6.3)

    [​IMG] (Full size)

    Portal (10.6.4)

    [​IMG] (Full size)

    This was looking up at GLaDOS. If I turned to the side, fps would go up to around 80. Having open portals would bring it down by 5-10 fps.


    HL2 (10.6.3)

    [​IMG] (Full size)

    HL2 (10.6.4) First one, menu open; second one, menu closed. I noticed that the menu would bring fps down by around 5-10. Don't know if it's even relevant, but I just noticed it while taking these pics.

    [​IMG] (Full size)

    [​IMG] (Full size)


    Looking off to the side, the menu had a bigger impact (~15 fps)

    [​IMG] (Full size)

    [​IMG] (Full size)


    Highest fps I could get was around 180.

    [​IMG] (Full size)


    And just for fun, I set MSAA to x2. 10.6.4 was no help in this area.

    [​IMG] (Full size)


    So, 10.6.4 improved quite a bit, but antialiasing is still an issue. I still have to see how my performance changed in TF2, if at all.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #21
    Thanks for the report.

    Just remember that 10.6.4 was packed before Steam was even released, we should expect to see more gains in 10.6.5/.6.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #22
    I was able to put AA to X4 on CoD4 on 800x600. It looks and runs great.

    Haven't tried with higher rez yet, mainly because 800x600 looks perfect my my MBP to me.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Fiveos22

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #23
    What's the problem with AA? I've been running my 3 ghz iMac on 4x AA on HL2, TF2, Portal with no problems. Any higher and I get black screen on start up and have to reboot the game is safe mode.
     
  24. macrumors member

    DarkCloud2015

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #24
    I can't run AA at any higher than 2x, and even at that I'll get maybe ~30 fps in no actions scenes or small areas, with dips to 10-15 fps in larger areas o big action. 4x makes any Source game I have unplayable.

    But I do have the luxury of running at native res with everything on high, so AA isn't a big issue for me. Also, I'm sure 10.6.5 and future Snow Leopard/Steam updates will probably fix things.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #25
    800by 600 looks HORRIBLE....
     

Share This Page