Has anybody had success transferring files from any PPC based mac to the C2D MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rockandroll556, Nov 15, 2006.

  1. rockandroll556 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #1
    I feel like I'm always complaning in some way with my posts, so firstly let me say for that I apologize. I was just wondering if anybody has had any success transferring files (through firewire transfer) either with migration assistant or manually from a PPC based mac to the new C2D Macbook Pro (or any intel mac for that matter). My computer froze 3 times during manual file transfers, and migration assistant wouldn't load my old computer for me (I waited for 15 min to no avail... I have a dual 1ghz g4 tower if that makes any difference).

    I was just curious if this is a problem between the ppc macs and the intel macs, or if this is more of an isolated incident... I know one other person on here said they had the same issue. Thanks for any responses.
     
  2. sierra oscar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    South Australia, Australia
    #2
    I've just done a complete migration (a few days ago anyway) from a 800mhz iMac PPC to a Macbook C2D.

    My first attempt at using migration assistant - and it worked seamlessly. I was expecting some things to go awry and nothing did.

    The only thing I was told that could be missing is some dock items - two appeared as a question mark - but they were still in the applications folder - so I just re-applied them to the dock.

    So...perhaps check out the health of your host machine first? Perhaps there is something not so healthy there that is causing it to hang?
     
  3. iBorg20181 macrumors 6502

    iBorg20181

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #3
    1 1/2 weeks ago, when my MBP arrived, I decided to load everything fresh, rather than to use Migration Assistant, and then restart my TiBook into firewire mode, and manually transfer what I wanted via firewire cable (mainly iPhoto and iTunes data files). It worked smoothly, without problems.

    iBorg
     
  4. GrounD macrumors newbie

    GrounD

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #4
    This problem seems to be a Intel and PowerPC incompatibility issue, not a specific problem to the Macbook Pro Core 2 Duo. Have a look at the following page and search for the word migration: http://www.maccast.com/2006/03/26/maccast-03262006/

    If you have time, also listen to the podcast included in this page for more details. It talks about this issue (You can go directly to this subject by selecting the right chapter).

    I took this next text from the shownotes linked to the same page:

     
  5. rockandroll556 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #5
    ^^thanks for the links. To those who were able to do this successfully using migration assistant, did it take a very long time to load the stats of your other computer? My g4 was not having problems when I was using it (up until yesterday) so I dont think that is the issue. The computer does have an almost full hard drive (like 78 of 80 gigs used), could that be the cause of the problem?

    To let you guys know, I didn't want to transfer a user account... i just wanted to transfer some applications that are registered on my g4. I don't want to have to go through the trouble of finding my cds and cd keys again--Im at college, and I have none of this information here with me. If it was at the spinning loading thing for over 10 min in the application part, is that abnormal? Or should I just wait longer? This seems like an awfully long time to wait for me--the least the program could do would be to give a loading bar so at least I know its doing something (if it actually should be taking upwards of 10 min to load my apps).
     
  6. sierra oscar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    South Australia, Australia
    #6
    I was so surprised that even my MS Office X migrated over - I was expecting to have to reinstall some things from disks - but even a now older version of word, excell etc all went over like butter....

    I did a complete migration - and it took.... about an hour (from memory) I set it and sort of went and did other things - so maybe less maybe more time? I had about 30Gigs to transfer over... I initially thought I would just specify which apps I wanted to migrate - but thought I'd do a full and then delete from the other machine if I wanted to - but I really like having two machines with everything on them - so I don't ever want for anything in the field. As researcher I need my data to be a single consistent copy.

    If I want to get the 'fresh' Macbook C2D look - I just log in as another user and I'm presented with a desktop like I would have had if I had not migrated a thing over. Pretty cool - best of both worlds (if you have the HD space).
     

Share This Page