Has anyone definitively solved the default Language issue in Word Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by atlanticza, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    atlanticza

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #1
    There are plenty of complaints/queries (on this forum too) about how to set the default Language in Mac Word from English (US) to English (UK). I've tried the lot but Word is a stubborn animal. And despite employing all the suggestions (and Word indicating that I have done the right thing) the "s" in "analyse", for example, is still red-lined as incorrect and suggest the US version.

    A Nobel prize for someone who knows the definitive answer!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Its working here 14.1.0 (110310) - what version of Word are you using?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    atlanticza

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #3
    Mac Office 2011
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #4
    Changing word dictionary to English UK

    Try the following it worked for me:

    in word click Tools > Language . A box with the list of languages appears. Select English UK then select default (dont select OK yet). In default when prompted do you want to change the default language to English UK select ok. then select ok again and voila the Nobel Prize is won.

    K:D
     

Share This Page