iPhone Has anyone got SKY GO working on iOS 6 Jailbreak?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Atlantean, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #1
    This for me is one of the biggest disadvantages of jailbreaking an iPhone, the fact that the SKY GO app in it's normal form will not work!

    xCon use to do a good job at getting around the problem but that no longer seem to work!

    Has anyone managed to get the SKY GO app working on a Jailbroken iPhone running iOS 6?
     
  2. dhlizard
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
  3. sassenach74
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    sassenach74

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    #3
    That doesn't work, tried it a while back.
     
  4. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #4
    I tried that myself already but it didn't work :confused:
     
  5. zuluten, Feb 20, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013

    zuluten
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    #5
    Sky Go on iPad 3 IOS 6.1

    I have successfully installed Version 2.3 Sky GO (old patched on from Installous) on my iPad 3; my iPad is jail broken with Evasi0n.

    All Sky Go apps must be deleted and device rebooted before proceeding

    Install the repo http://n00neimp0rtant.dyndns.org/repo and download 'old sky go patch' from the packages list. This will install Xcon, Installous 5, Hackulo Resources etc.

    Once this is is done, open Installous and download Sky Go to your springboard. When i logged in to Sky Go i used to get unable to stream error: 9 but when i went in to Cydia and removed the download Xcon 38 - beta 2 and installed Xcon 32 from the iHacks repo it worked.

    Have a go
     
  6. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #6
    That depends on Installous which I don't have!
     
  7. DerekRod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    1.Installous is piracy its against forum rules to discuss it 2.Installous is dead anyway
     
  8. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    I am aware of that - I did not wish to discuss that app on here. I only mentioned it because it happens to be an integral part of the proposed solution to my problem.
     
  9. sassenach74
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    sassenach74

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    #9
    Wow get off your high horse there cowboy, installous as you said no longer provides a way of downloading cracked apps, BUT, it can still be used to install ipa files, nothing piracy in that. I had to install an ipa file yesterday, an older version of a free app, am I a pirate? There is still a need for a program to install ipa files, the piracy part is in downloading and installing cracked apps.

    Neil.
     
  10. DerekRod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    I say that only so your thread doesn't get deleted yeehaw :rolleyes:
     
  11. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #11
    Well, I am not looking to get involved in piracy of any sort! I pay over €100 a month to SKY for my TV package and all I want to do is to be able to use their "free" app on my iPhone 4S!

    The fact that I have jailbroken my iphone means that even though I legally subscribe to their service and reside within their broadcasting boundary I can not receive their service on my phone!
     
  12. adammacleod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    #12
    How did you manage to remove xcon 38 beta 2 without it deleting Sky Go? If I try and delete it, it says it will remove both
     
  13. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #13
    It was all deleted when I upgraded to 6.1.1 last week. Having said that — it was not working before I upgraded when I was on 5.1.1

    I am not sure when it stopped working though. I only noticed about 3 weeks ago that even though I was using the patched app it no longer worked on my phone!
     
  14. zuluten
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    #14
    It said it would remove both but sky go remained on springboard and then I installed xcon 32.

    Definitely worked for without any problems
     
  15. adammacleod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    #15
    Cheers mate, will give it a try
     
  16. zuluten
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    #16
    I am assuming as sky go is installed thru Installous, Cydia cant remove it.
     
  17. leonlink
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #17
    Tried in ipad 4

    Hello, I tried the method from the repo of n00neimportant. Well there is a problem: when I try to login in sky go it says wrong username and password because they are case sensitive. But I just used that on the updated version of sky go and it worked. What can I do?
     
  18. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #18
    When you say the "updated" version of SKY GO which one did you use?
     
  19. leonlink, Feb 26, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013

    leonlink
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #19
    I'm trying to login from the patched version and it returns the error that I said before. But if I download the original sky go app from App Store right now, I can login with the user and pass that I have...
    Are you able to login with patched version?
     
  20. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #20
    I can't even load the patched version on my phone!
     
  21. Atlantean
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #21
    The current version of the app loads but won't play as it knows the phone is jailbroken and shows a message saying so!
     
  22. sassenach74
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    sassenach74

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    #22
    I've all but given up with sky go, might cancel my package anyway, feel like I'm being ripped off anyway.
     
  23. mainmanhen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    #23
    Sky go / xcon

     
  24. dhlizard
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #24
  25. c0ldvengeance
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013

Share This Page