Has my ipad 4.2 beta 1 just expired?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by cRuNcHiE, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #1
    Today my ipad just rebooted it self and is now showing the connect to itunes screen. Coincidence that the new beta is due around about now?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #2
    waiting myself.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Really? I didn't realise they would/could be time bombed.

    For those of us that had the beta and had our iPad ID added to the dev's platform; when/if there's a new beta released are we still eligible?
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    are you sure it's not just the iPad having a serious crash moment? tried restoring to the beta again? Betas don't tend to expire on the day of a new release, I had a beta installed on my iPhone 3G for a couple weeks after a newer beta was released till next build due to bugs with the beta inbwtween the two betas I used
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #5
    Don't think so. 4.2 Beta 1 is very very very unstable.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #6
    Depends on who you talk to. Now of you asked me I'd be saying "Giggity".
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #7
    its been very stable for me.
    only few minor bugs like youtube/air play
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #8
    Question: How did you load the Beta? From the Dev Portal?

    The Beta, other than the GM, have a set expiration date. I have never seen an apple beta expire on the exact day they usually release the beta, in this example every two weeks. They usually have a overhang of a few days, usually a week.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #9
    It looks like my ipad may hav died :(

    It wont restore, even to 3.2.2 even if im in DFU mode, i get error 1015
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #10
    If you have a 3G one, you will get that error trying to downgrade because you cant downgrade the baseband.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #11
    Restore to 3.2.2 then use reboot to kick it back into normal.

    http://www.sebby.net/443-recboot-final-release/

    This is how it works with unreleased betas.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #12
    Excellent, thankyou! working again. One for the bookmarks me thinks!
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Thanks for that info bcaslis .. just restored my 64GB 3G.
    Had a few problems on Windows 7 64bit, but eventually all now works.
    I had so many losses of WiFi, it was becoming annoying on 4.2.
     

Share This Page