have 8500/120 +G3 card, how to run OS 9.2.2?

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by classicnerdgrrl, Sep 3, 2006.

  1. classicnerdgrrl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    central Oregon Coast
    #1
    hi all. glad to find some other people who like old macs.

    i have an 8500/120 AV which i have just added a powermax G3 card, the profiler says i'm running at 279 mhz now. i have 256 mg physical ram.
    currently running 8.6 want to upgrade to 9.2.2, (i have that OS disk), when i try to install, mac says "that won't run on this machine". i thought when i upgraded to G3 i could run 9.2

    do i need to upgrade incrementally? or what?
    i want 9.2 so i can add a USB card (one i pulled out of my upgraded 5500)

    any ideas appreciated.
     
  2. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    You cant

    You have to own an actual G3

    There are hacks to put 9.2.2 on unsupported machines, but it is buggy and I wouldn't recommend it.
     
  3. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #3
    Most everything you need from Mac OS 9 you can get from 9.1. The only true compatibility factor for apps was Carbon, and the latest Carbon libs can be installed on Mac OS 8.6 and later.

    Both 9.2.1 and 9.2.2 were designed to improve Classic compatibility with Mac OS X. The only other reason to run 9.2.x would be if your system came with it preinstalled (in which case you couldn't run anything earlier).

    For running USB on an 8500, 8.6, 9.0.4 or 9.1 would be fine. And considering the amount of additional memory that Mac OS 9 needed for each successive version (and how flakey 9.2.x was compared to 9.1), I'd strongly suggest stopping at 9.1.
     
  4. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #4
    9.2 sucks compared to 9.1.

    Honestly.

    The USB card you pulled should work fine, since it was from a Mac of the same vintage. I hate 9.2.2, its too flaky and crashes a lot, but I have to have it on there for Classic support in Tiger.
     
  5. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #5
    huh you can get the patch at www.os9forever.com

    my friend runs his 6500 that has a G3 400 l2 cache card and a orignal radeon and a 20 gb hdd in OS 9.2.2 and has yet to have a problem with it

    that 8500 will run OS 9.2.2 way better than that 6500 my friend has cause your ability to have more ram. dont the 8500 take a diffrent upgrade card than what the 6500 does
     
  6. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #6
    Yes.

    The 7300, 7500, 7600, 8500, 8600, 9500 and 9600 series systems all had their original processors on a daughter card that could be removed and replaced very easily. And with the exception of the last revision of the 8600 and 9600 series, the daughter cards were interchangeable between models (and clone systems that also used the daughter card design).

    For example, my 7500 (which originally had a daughter card with a PowerPC 601 at 100 MHz) has run on cards from an 8500 (PowerPC 604 at 132 MHz) and a Power Tower Pro (both a PowerPC 604e at 210 MHz and PowerPC at 225 MHz).
     
  7. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Nobody said you couldn't run it, just not officially, we don't recommend that patch. It's a "patch" for a reason... 9.2.2 is not intended to run on those machines.

    Your friend with a 6500 probably is keeping secrets from you. 9.2.2 isn't very reliable on unsupported hardware.
     
  8. im_to_hyper macrumors 65816

    im_to_hyper

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Glendale, California, USA
    #8
    Of course you could always try running XPostFacto from here . You could put up to 10.2 on there with that, I think. The speed should be "comparable" to a beige G3 of similar specs running 10.2. Then of course your USB would work natively...

    I would reccomend finding XPostFacto 3.x off that site.
     
  9. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #9
    the speed would only be so-so, in what ever you do. an 8500 is not going to run OSX well, mainly because of its slow bus speed, and slower ram. Its going to lag, and take forever to start up:D
     
  10. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    And that's if you even get it to run in the first place, which in itself is quite a task.
     
  11. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #11
    OK W/E

    like i said he has had no problems with running OS 9.2.2 on a 6500 it also has a G3 500 L2 cache upgrade (use to be a 400 G3 L2 cache) and 128mb ram a 20 gb hdd. he even uses a USB2.0/FIREWIRE pci card, A orignal radeon pci video card. his system rund OS 9.2.2 easly, the only problem is the low ammount of ram but he hasnt had much problems with that. the system is stable i hate to tell you.

    putting OS 9.2.2 on the 6500 system was easy, it never had any problems installing and running. it will be even easyir on that 8500 you have with the upgrade . for one simple fact you can put more memory on it and the cpu upgrade is a real cpu upgrade and not a L2 cache plug in like on the 6500

    i have tiger 10.4.7 on my Beige G3 and its stable i have never had a crash on it yet and my system is not supported.
     
  12. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    By the time I made that comment, I had assumed we were talking about Mac OS X.

    But it was supported at one time. So it can be assumed that the only reason the Beige G3s are not supported now is due to new features added to OS X since it was originally released that Apple didn't feel like testing, supporting, and guaranteeing on the Beige G3. That doesn't mean they won't work. Just as 9.2.2 *works* on a 6500.

    The 6500 was never officially supported by any Aqua version of OS X.

    Running an unsupported OS always opens the chances for there to be some stability or compatibility problems.
     
  13. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #13

    oh yea i knew that you always have the possability to have thing go way wrong, missing drivers that are needed and other stuff who knows.

    i think OS X 10.1 can be installed on a 6500 IIRC. but that wont get to far tho
     

Share This Page