have to buy new computer today or tomorrow

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cshoemake, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. cshoemake macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #1
    I just got a new job, and i have to provide my own laptop. i have a powerbook 12" 1.5ghz g4 currently. however, the new job requires windows and windows software (i.e. - programs only designed for windows, etc...). so, my question to you, does a macbook run windows effectively enough to run most if not all types of windows software? i know i'll need to install xp or vista as well, i just want to make sure that the macbook will be efficient in this type of windows environment. any help, advice, or suggestions would be much appreciated. i just can't picture having to buy a pc. bleh.

    Thanks!
     
  2. mattscott306 macrumors 68040

    mattscott306

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #2
    If you run of Parrallels you should be fine. Apple notes that you should not use Boot camp for work applications as it is still in its beta stage.
     
  3. mgargan1 macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    #3
    As long as you don't have to play games for work, you'll be 100% fine...

    On a side note, what kinda company makes their employees provide his or her own computer!?
     
  4. cshoemake thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #4
    i'll be an independent contractor for an oil and gas company. fun stuff. ;)

    thanks for the advice.
     
  5. mgargan1 macrumors 65816

    mgargan1

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    #5
    yea, that makes a little more sense...

    Yea, you'll be 100% fine with parallels then.
     
  6. JohnMC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    #6
    What Software?

    Just a question what kind of software you you have to run? I have seen programs like CAD 2005 LT and other virtual tools running on a macbook and it is not fun. If this is what you need to run you may want to look at a refurb MacBook Pro. Just my opinion.

    JohnMC
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    I wouldn't be that confidence, what software are ou going need to run?
     
  8. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #8
    I am able to run Pro Engineer just fine on my macbook and thats a cad program.....
     
  9. JohnMC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    #9
    Clevin, Im only asking about more "open" programs and not private "company only" stuff.

    The only reason I'm saying this is my college cousin has to run CAD 2005 LT and it is much slower than my MacBook Pro.

    I may be way off the mark.

    JohnMC
     
  10. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #10
    Honestly, if WinXP runs well now, and runs well 2 months from now, it'll continue to work fine (viruses and malware not factored in).

    Just use it. It's almost not a beta anymore since Apple is about to start charging $30 for it.
     
  11. cshoemake thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #11
    i'll be using it to run office (probably 07), and also to run some adobe acrobat (full version), and a program called deed plotter (windows only). bleh. if it wasn't for the deed plotter program, i'd be fine. question, if i run parallels, will preview on osx run equivalent to adobe acrobat on windows? what does the full version do that reader does not?

    Thanks for all the great advice!
     
  12. cshoemake thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #12
    also, one last question, when buying windows, should i go for XP pro, or vista home premium?

    thanks.
     
  13. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #13
    I would go XP Pro. Hope Premium is too new and probably still full of bugs. Most enterprises won't be upgrading for a long time.. I know my univ is waiting almost a year before rolling it out.

    Plus, you might be able to find a cheeper price on XP Pro
     
  14. HugMnster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Location:
    Tyler, Tx
    #14

    I second that vote for XP proffestional. I have vista buisness on one machine here at work , mine an its ok but our corp version of trend micro antivirus / spyware does not have vista support yet an I have seen some issues with printer drivers. I do not plan to roll it out here for 6 to 8 months if not more.


    jack
     
  15. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #15
    BTW, I wouldn't run Parallels - I'd run Bootcamp. That's how you'll get the best performance out of Windows on your mac.

    I tried Parallels on all of my mac laptops (white macbook w/ 1.25GB RAM, blackbook w/ 2GB RAM, and this MBP), and all of them were subpar.

    I mean, try both out if you want, but from experience, I don't think Parallels performs to expectations, at least not for me, and not compared to bootcamp.

    In bootcamp, though, windows will fly!
     
  16. mattscott306 macrumors 68040

    mattscott306

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #16
    When I think of windows flying, I kind of picture a chicken. It gets a few feet, and looks rediculous doing so.
     
  17. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #17
    AFAIK non-Intel Macs won't run Bootcamp; Bootcamp requires an Intel cpu.

    I don't know about Parallels requiring Intel or not.
     
  18. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #18
    Parallels makes use of the Intel Virtualization Technology so yeah you need an Intel.
     
  19. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #19
    His whole post was about "have to buy new computer today or tomorrow" and he wants to know if he can buy a Mac that will run Windows well. The answer is yes.
     
  20. cshoemake thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #20
    thank you all so much for your input. i'm probably going to pull the trigger tonight. it'll be a battle b/w the refurbished and brand new black macbook core 2 duo. (the white just doesn't look as "professional" as I'd like). i'll be upgrading the ram to 2 gigs, so it might be best to order the new one as they'll do it right away. the one problem w/ the way the refurb ships is that it's two dimms of 512, instead of a 1 gig. bleh. thanks again.
     
  21. cshoemake thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #21
    follow up

    well, thanks to everyone for their advice. i bought the black MB today. so far, so good. tomorrow is the windows install. i'll keep you updated. i ended up buying from an apple store, b/c i feared the laptop wouldn't be delivered in time. so, i still need to throw some ram in here. is crucial my best bet? i'll pay a bit of a premium for reliability. also, since moving from the 12" PB (1.5 ghz), I've noticed the screen is a bit more washed out on the MB. anyone know where i could download a good MB display profile?

    thanks again!
     

Share This Page